• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

"Custom Spell" Advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to check my post :)

Basically, I've been making maps for about 10 years. Thing is, I learnt pretty much everything I know about mapping from trial and error, and I'm not terribly bright! I mostly make single-player dungeon maps, where you take ~1-5 heroes through a dungeon, killing bosses (the usual stuff).

Thing is, I always struggle when it comes to making 'new' boss abilities (basically anything different from the existing Blizzard, Flame Strike, etc). I always create my "custom spells" through the Special Effects and Damage Area triggers, and an extensive use of regions.

I threw a quick fight together earlier today to show you an example. It took me about 3 Hours to put together, which is probably about average for the time it takes me to make new Boss abilities like this.

(Basically, a flame strike hits the corner of the platform, sends out 3 waves of badness and spawns an add).

f17v.jpg

This technique has sort of worked for me for a number of years now, but it's starting to feel very limiting (not to mention just in that 30 seconds of combat it took over 50 regions, so when I'm making a full map of 10+ Bosses things get a little chaotic).