Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Can't make Hero glow appear.

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by HerrDave, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    Salutations, recently I've been getting some models out of the way, but one of them is being particularly hard to work with.

    After having it crash my editor upwards to seven times, I finally fixed the problem (without discovering what it was) and now it appears in-game.


    But there is still a lingering problem.

    In the model editor, I can see the Hero glow.

    In the world editor and in the game, I cannot.

    I have the hero glow.geo attached to the "hero" bone, and I've made sure it has beginning and ending animations. But it simply doesn't appear in the game.



    This has been frustrating me to the point of shouting at someone, and I'd very much like to get this fixed so I may get around to apologizing for my outburst.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Warseeker

    Warseeker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,099
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Hum, Does "somehow" the hero glow appear in random place of the map?

    Otherwise, to solve this, just create his own hero glow goeset, attach it to a new bone "teamColorglow", and that should fix your problem or just add it via trigger.
     
  3. Himperion

    Himperion

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    665
    Resources:
    22
    Models:
    22
    Resources:
    22
    Maybe the glow is attached to a helper or the glow has it's animation geoset set to -1.
     
  4. NhazUl

    NhazUl

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    7
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    8
    Most likely a faulty geoset animation alpha key. Editing geosets in MDX format instead of MDL tends to do that. Open the model in Magos, highlight the geoset, go to Geoset Animation Manager and set the alpha value to 1. Then SAVE AS MDL and use another program (MDLX Converter, MdlVis) to convert back to MDX.
     
  5. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    The problem has returned in full.

    Even though I employed the same method I used to fix the Wolfmaster, while working on the infested Night-elf the problem returned.

    I must ask, where is the Alpha Value displayed in MdlVis? I cannot find it to save my life, it seems.

    What do you mean by this, how can I reverse the effect?
     
  6. Warseeker

    Warseeker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,099
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    You mean the Alpha material? Besides, What do you mean the problem has returned with he infested Nigh Elf,, then I assume it's a material or geoset issue but apparently the Alpha show properly wherever in WE or game!?
     
  7. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    The hero glow (attached to a bone called hero which itself is attached to another standalone bone called teamColorglow) is not appearing in either the world editor nor the game.

    It is appearing in MdlVis and Magos' model editor though, which is what is fuddling me.

    I've since found the alpha value and made sure that it is set to 1. (Though it was 1 before I made any changes, strangely.)

    I can post the model if it'd help.
     
  8. Warseeker

    Warseeker

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,099
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Wait, you are making the hero glow attached to two bones? Try to create a new bone then attach the hero glow to it without attaching it to standalone bone, that should solve the problem.
     
  9. NhazUl

    NhazUl

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    7
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    8
    Magos displaya alpha values, I don't know about MdlVis.
     
  10. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    I removed the bone standalone bone like you said, while it didn't fix it I noticed something-- The hero glow.geo was not attached to the 'hero' bone.

    :goblin_wtf: :goblin_cry::goblin_boom:

    After having a good shout at my screen and hiring some goblins to give you an example of what happened, re-attaching the geoset solved the problem and I was being ludicrously stupid the whole time apparently.

    I must thank you profusely for tolerating my thick-skull and lending aid despite seemingly no progress prior.

    I hope you have a good day, gentlemen.