1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Trigger] Builder Paging

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Maddawg101, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. Herman

    Herman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    877
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Raft

    You know when you go to build a building, the target on your cursor is the building???

    That was the effect I wanted to see, you could probably just do regular AoE's, but those have spell targets, making it look fake
     
  2. raft_pl

    raft_pl

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    @Eleandor
    Yes, thats exactly what i mean. You just use the AOE, to let the player know how big the building is and to determine the place, where he wants to build.

    @Herman
    I know there is a faded model of building you want to build, thats the only thing that i cant do this way... ;P But everything else works.

    @GhostWolf
    As far as i remember, its in "Unit - Order unit to (...)" :p
     
  3. Maddawg101

    Maddawg101

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Replacing units works for me and I'm not all that excited to go back and try the other variations. Raft_pl that sounds really complicated but it'd be awesome if you got it to work. Herman I'm still working out some problems but I'll upload a good version here soon.
     
  4. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    If you will do raft's idea without trying to show a faded building its really easy.

    Event: A unit startes the effects of a ablity
    Actions:
    Set Point = point target of ability being cast
    If/then/else
    If - ability equal to building1
    Then - create 1 dummy for (owner of (triggering unit)) bla bla bla
    give last created unit BuildingItem1
    order last created unit to use BuildingItem1 at Point (here you can make him use the original items with diffrent buildings, which shouldn't be bugged like normal abilities)
    Now you can add some stuff so it will look as if the unit is actualy building it
     
  5. Herman

    Herman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    877
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hm

    Heh, if I wanted the map to seem more like your the manager, I'd have the unit building it a locust, and he spawns from somewhere

    That'd be really cool, like having the building commissioner order where the structures will be built, and you could also make more than just one building

    You could have like, a whole mess of towers and such

    The possibilities are endless :wgrin:
     
  6. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Thougt of that, but couldn't think of any way to detect where the player's curser is.

    And even if you could, it would probably lag because you will need to make points and remove them VERY fast if you want it to move smoothly.
     
  7. Herman

    Herman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    877
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hmmmm

    Yeah that'd be a real pain in the ass

    Well, that wouldn't lag too much, for some reason if you use boolexprs in .01 sec triggers, it's as if it was turned off

    I use those kinds of triggers all the time for movement
     
  8. raft_pl

    raft_pl

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I think i saw "position of cursor of (player)" in WEU, but im not sure... Even not 10% sure.
    @Faded buildings: maybe its possible to do by changing model of AOE? (the circles, they are just plane-models)
     
  9. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Do you know how to do that ? I guess thats already something that has to do with warcraft and not with the world editor ? Correct me if im right ...
     
  10. Herman

    Herman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    877
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I guess

    I think you would need to use an outside program to mess with that part of WC

    I don't really have a clue other than that