1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Trigger] Builder Paging

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Maddawg101, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. Maddawg101

    Maddawg101

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I have a survival based game and what I really want to add on to it is a second page of building options for the builder you start out with. Also he needs to be able to switch back and forth between them fairly easily. I've seen this before so I know it can be done but is there an easy way in GUI?
     
  2. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Can you explain what exacly you want ? because I don't know whats a Survival map and whats a builder page :weekani:
     
  3. Elfsilver Lord

    Elfsilver Lord

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,070
    Resources:
    16
    Icons:
    12
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    16
    He means if the Building Menu, say for example with your peasant, and it shows all the structures, how much the cost, then click on them to place where to build them, etc.

    To my understanding, he wants a second page like that for more buildings.
     
  4. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    If thats the case you could use 2 units, and when you use a ability it replaces beetwin them.

    You could also (I think) use spell books with the Build Tiny Castle ability.
    Im not sure about this though and im not going to test it since im going to sleep.

    Good night
     
  5. Maddawg101

    Maddawg101

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes Elfsilvers got it right and I'll check out the 2 unit switching next
    Or maybe a 2nd builder menu? That'd be the best
    The tiny castle works for only the castle itself so I could change it for another but it'd only be good for 1 unit not another page
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2007
  6. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Yes but you can make like 60 spells of tiny castle with diffrent buildings and make spell books for them.
     
  7. Maddawg101

    Maddawg101

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What do you mean spell books for them? Like have it as an item and then it opens a menu?
     
  8. humpadumpa

    humpadumpa

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    nah, you don't need an item for a spellbook. you can do like this: make the builder have the spellbook ability and put the buildings that you want it to have as abilities (this should be able to do with the "Build Tiny Castle" item ability) and put spellbooks inside the other spellbooks so you can have as many buildings as you want :D
     
  9. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    For some reason it seems to me that in every thread I post someone later on copies exacly what I said, changes the words and posts again... this is starting to annoy me :wthumbsdown: (not that anyone cares).

    A Spell Book is a ability in the Item Abilities that has its "own" menu and allows you to put up to 11 other abilities into it.

    If you ever played RPGs, most of them have one.
     
  10. humpadumpa

    humpadumpa

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    oops, didn't read ur post b4 >.< soz :p
     
  11. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Don't worry its not only you :wsad:
     
  12. humpadumpa

    humpadumpa

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    idd.. some1 have done it with the MUI thing i wrote about.
    And he/she didn't even give me +rep /cry
     
  13. raft_pl

    raft_pl

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    [Offtopic]: Oh noes, its all my fault, sry guys :(((( [/Offtopic]

    [Topic]: You can just make a spellbook with "Build Tiny Castle" ability using... MUAAHUHUHUUHAH, joke, GhostWolf XDD
     
  14. DragoonZombie

    DragoonZombie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    436
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    I'm sorry to say that the use of Spellbook and Build Tiny xyz won't work, because they all share the same order id. Which means, if you cast one of the builds only one of them will be build. Always.

    It is indeed possible to make it with Spellbooks, but only by removing and adding the wanted Build Tiny xyz ability. (Not tested, but should work)
     
  15. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Ever heard of CHANGING OrderIDs ?
     
  16. DragoonZombie

    DragoonZombie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    436
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Test it and say the same thing again.
     
  17. Maddawg101

    Maddawg101

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I've been trying the spellbook > build (my unit instead of Castle) but it's not working as well as I'd hoped.
    It ignores how many resources the building costs and it constructs even if the builder goes to do something else
    Therefore you can make unlimited of them without time or cost constraints.
     
  18. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Of course, its a ability after all.
    If you want to use it, you would need to use triggers.

    A simple example:

    • Unknown
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Animate Dead
      • Actions
        • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
          • If - Conditions
            • ((Owner of (Triggering unit)) Current gold) Less than 100
          • Then - Actions
            • Skip remaining actions
          • Else - Actions
            • Unit - Pause (Triggering unit)
            • Wait 10.00 seconds
            • Unit - Unpause (Triggering unit)
     
  19. Maddawg101

    Maddawg101

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    New problem unfortunately. If the spellbook has more than one build (building) everything works fine except for when placing the building it turns out to be whatever is first in line in the spellbook.
     
  20. GhostWolf

    GhostWolf

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    You would need to change the Order ID of every similar spell so it should work.

    A rule for life :)P) - NEVER give the same unit abilities with the same Order IDs !