• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Auto Cast Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
I am trying to make a orc raider auto cast ensnare when NEAR any enemy flying unit. I was following this tutorial...

Making any Spell Autocasting

,but i am still unable to make my orc raider auto cast. Any ideas you guys come up with do not have to follow the tutorial i linked. anything will help as long as it works. I Based my dummy spell off searing arrow. what i currently have is ...
(PS.. i am still new to this so please explain as much as you can)

Ensnare in object manager ...
ensnare.png

dummy spell(searing arrow) in object manager...
dummy.png

raider changes in object manager...
raider.png

trigger...
trigger.png

Level 39
IMO the method Ralle used has some questionable choices. For example it doesn't make sense to give your custom ensnare ability mana cost and cooldown and you don't have to add it to the raider because you can use a dummy caster unit to cast the actual ensnare instead. For all intents and purposes the dummy autocast ability SHOULD be the main ability with all cooldown/manacost/targeting options set to what you want the spell to actually have-- pretty much every custom spell does it this way.

I probably wouldn't use Searing Arrows because it might interact weird with what you can actually target due to it being an attack modifier. Faerie Fire or Inner Fire are better choices IMO, though now that I think about it the fact that they would apply a buff briefly (giving them 0 duration makes them endless) might make them not a good choice. It is ultimately up to you, but know there might be downsides to which autocast ability you choose.