• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Attribute based AoE skills? Need help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
As the title, I have problems while creating spells which deal damage based on Hero's attributes. I know how to creating single target spells but not AoE targets spells.

For example, I want to create a custom Thunder Clap spell which deals damage equal to 5 x the caster's Strength to enemy units in a 500 AoE.

Can somebody help me with the trigger in GUI?

I'm a newbie here!

Thanks in advance! :wink:

Level 25
  • AoeDamage
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Thunder Clap
    • Actions
      • Set x = (Real(((Strength of (Triggering unit) (Exclude bonuses)) x 4)))
      • Set tempPoint = (Position of (Triggering unit))
      • Set tempUnitGroup = (Units within 250.00 of tempPoint matching (((Owner of (Triggering unit)) is an enemy of (Owner of (Matching unit))) Equal to True))
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in tempUnitGroup and do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Unit - Cause (Triggering unit) to damage (Picked unit), dealing x damage of attack type Spells and damage type Normal
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_tempPoint)
      • Custom script: call DestroyGroup(udg_tempGroup)
The only differences between this and a single target spell:
- use a unit group variable to pick nearby enemies (pick every unit in range matching condition)
- deal the damage to each unit individually
- clean your memory leaks!

Level 33
You don't have to create a new global variable just for the sake picking every unit, just do this;