• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

AI/Custom control in the game

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Hello guys. Here probably will be the most important moment for me of why I started learning Jass and other stuff

So, to cut it short, I want to make an AI.

But, it is probably not that AI that most of you imagine. Or, probably I should call it the other way like controller or whatever, not an AI, I will explain more in details

How usually AI works? For example, on a standart map there are neutral units that have some logic and behaviour(when you pass by them they start to attack you, use some abilities etc)
Or, you play against computer and he harvests the resources, makes buildings, does upgrades, attacks you sometimes etc.

What I want to do is sending commands to the unit and make it to do some actions in the game!
Not sure what correct example of the map should it be but anyway

Lets assume that it is DOTA. Just for an example.
So, consider you have a map, DOTA map where you can put a computer in player slot and start the game
After the start, computer takes random hero and thats pretty it! He stays at the fountain and does nothing

============================================================
Is there a possible way for me to be able to control that computer hero while being in the game?
For example, via interface like:

-move(real x, real y)
-goToTheShop()
-buyItem(integer itemID)
-attackRoshan()

let it be computer's WitchDoctor with the ability to heal that can be activated and deactivated, then
-useHeal(real howMuchTimeInMiliseconds)

I just type all of these commands using standart ENTER input system