• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Advice For Complete Newbie thinking of making custom campaigns

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 23
Hi guys,

Sorry to bother you all. After playing so many amazing war3 custom campaigns during my time, i feel like i would like to contribute something to the warcraft 3 community. My question is though, i have 0 experience with any coding, and will be starting completely afresh. Am i too old to think of making a custom campaign, especially since my college in major is not related to coding or what not.

If i follow the guidelines and walkthroughs on this forum, will i have a descent chance of making something great? ( I realize great campaigns are not built in a day, I would be willing to work on it over a very long period of time ).

Many thanks,

-Tulee

You can never be too old for Warcraft 3.

And yes, you'll certainly have a chance of making something great--especially since you've already played several campaigns (you'll know what is good and what is bad).

It will take some patience and determination (as with every new hobby), but as long as you have an idea that you're genuinely interested in, I doubt that will be an issue. ;)

And don't hesitate to ask questions!

P.S. Check this out:
http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/general-mapping-tutorials-278/making-basic-campaign-6287/
For some basic guidelines. And just have fun experimenting in the editor. Mess around, and maybe look at some of Blizzard's preset maps to see how they did things. You can even look at their campaign maps if you want to see how they created a certain item, or added a certain event/cinematic, etc.

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64