• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

[Spell] Adding debuff effects of damaged units

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
20
Hello everyone! :)

I'm wondering if it's possible to add the Faerie Fire debuff effect to units that was struck by the thunder clap effect?

Example for units under the debuff from Thunder Clap, also gets the effect of Faeria Fire debuff effect :)
 
Level 21
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
3,232
Hello everyone! :)

I'm wondering if it's possible to add the Faerie Fire debuff effect to units that was struck by the thunder clap effect?

Example for units under the debuff from Thunder Clap, also gets the effect of Faeria Fire debuff effect :)

You'll need to use a dummy unit for that.

  • Untitled Trigger 001
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to (==) Thunder Clap
    • Actions
      • Set TempLocA = (Position of (Triggering unit))
      • Set TempGroup = (Units within 100.00 of TempLocA matching (((Owner of (Matching unit)) is an enemy of (Owner of (Triggering unit))) Equal to (==) True))
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in TempGroup and do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Unit - Create 1 Dummy Caster for (Owner of (Triggering unit)) at TempLocA facing Default building facing (270.0) degrees
          • Unit - Hide (Last created unit)
          • Unit - Add a 5.00 second Raise Dead expiration timer to (Last created unit)
          • Unit - Add Faerie Fire (Neutral Hostile) to (Last created unit)
          • Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Night Elf Druid Of The Talon - Faerie Fire (Picked unit)
 
Level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
20
The variable TempLocA is an point variable right?
And the TempGrou is Unit Group variable? :)

And the for the " Set TempGroup = (Units within 100.00 of TempLocA matching (((Owner of (Matching unit)) is an enemy of (Owner of (Triggering unit))) Equal to (==) True))"

What condition trigger is it? Can't seem the find the one with "is an enemy of (..)"
 
Level 21
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
3,232
The variable TempLocA is an point variable right?
And the TempGrou is Unit Group variable? :)

And the for the " Set TempGroup = (Units within 100.00 of TempLocA matching (((Owner of (Matching unit)) is an enemy of (Owner of (Triggering unit))) Equal to (==) True))"

What condition trigger is it? Can't seem the find the one with "is an enemy of (..)"

The condition is a boolean. "Is player enemy of player"

And 100 should be replaced with the area of effect of thunderclap.
 
Level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
20
I'm not quite sure if i just formulated myself wrong :s

But it doesn't seem to work?

I want both effects (Thunder Clap & Faerie Fire) on the units that are damaged by the Thunder Clap.

I'm trying to create an similar spell as this WoW spell:
http://www.wowhead.com/spell=62661
But with a range of 300 (same as the Thunder Clap spell)

bPOOY5D.png
 
Level 21
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
3,232
I'm not quite sure if i just formulated myself wrong :s

But it doesn't seem to work?

I want both effects (Thunder Clap & Faerie Fire) on the units that are damaged by the Thunder Clap.

I'm trying to create an similar spell as this WoW spell:
http://www.wowhead.com/spell=62661
But with a range of 300 (same as the Thunder Clap spell)

bPOOY5D.png

You need to use "Starts the effect of an ability". Because elseway a person can just use the ability and press stop.

Also, does the dummy unit have mana?
 
Level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
20
You need to use "Starts the effect of an ability". Because elseway a person can just use the ability and press stop.

Also, does the dummy unit have mana?

I've just used the footman as dummy? I've only changed what's needed for an dummy nothing else :s

I'm pretty noobish with variables.. and dummies :s

If you could specify, what i need to do to make the dummy work well :)

And thanks for all of your fast replies!! :ogre_haosis:



Now it's like this:
[trigger=My Trigger]MyTrigger
Events
Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
Conditions
(Ability being cast) Equal to Searing Flame (Modified Thunder Clap)
Actions
Set TempLocA = (Position of (Triggering Unit))
Set TempGroup = (Units within 300.00 of TempLocA matching (((Owner of (Matching unit)) is an enemy of (Owner of (Triggering unit))) Equal to True))
Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area)) and do (Actions)
Loop - Actions
Unit - Create 1 Dummy for (Owner of (Triggering unit)) at TempLocA facing Default building facing (270.0) degrees
Unit - Hide (Last created unit)
Unit - Add a 5.00 second Raise Dead expiration timer to (Last created unit)
Unit - Add Faerie Fire to (Last created unit)
Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Night Elf Druid Of The Talon - Faerie Fire (Picked unit)[/trigger]
 
Level 21
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
3,232
I've just used the footman as dummy? I've only changed what's needed for an dummy nothing else :s

I'm pretty noobish with variables.. and dummies :s

If you could specify, what i need to do to make the dummy work well :)

And thanks for all of your fast replies!! :ogre_haosis:

Well, my dummies always have locust ability, endess mana and regeneration. They are also always flying units.
Health however is low(5) and health reg negative.
All attacks are disabled. Movement speed is 0.
Animation - cast point and cast backswing are 0.
 
Level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
20
Well, my dummies always have locust ability, endess mana and regeneration. They are also always flying units.
Health however is low(5) and health reg negative.
All attacks are disabled. Movement speed is 0.
Animation - cast point and cast backswing are 0.

Negative HP regen? like "-5"?
 
Level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
20
I usually set it to -1. That way the HP is the unit's lifespan in seconds.
I do this to make triggers shorter; It's basically an expiry timer.



lol wierd lowest it can get is "0.00"?
Just to be sure about it, then it's "Stats - Hit Points Regen Rate" that we are talking about? XD :grin:
 
Level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
20
It's working!!
Srsly! Thank you so much!
Would never have been able to do this without you. :D

Do i also have your permission to use this in my map online(public)?

And one more thing what is the "clear leaks" thingy? Where to put em in and what type of variable are they?? XD
Is it also possible to make the trigger work with diffirent ability lvl?
Like high ability lvl Thunder Clap is then high lvl Faeria Fire is??
 
Level 21
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
3,232
It's working!!
Srsly! Thank you so much!
Would never have been able to do this without you. :D

Do i also have your permission to use this in my map online(public)?

And one more thing what is the "clear leaks" thingy? Where to put em in and what type of variable are they?? XD
Is it also possible to make the trigger work with diffirent ability lvl?
Like high ability lvl Thunder Clap is then high lvl Faeria Fire is??

Put this at the end of the trigger. In this case it clears the leaks.
  • call RemoveLocation(udg_TempLocA)
  • call DestroyGroup(udg_TempGroup)
Permission? Do what you want with it. This is quite basic anyway.

To make it work with different ability levels you check what level of that specific ability your hero has and then change everything accordingly.

For making faerie fire level up too I would make a custom faerie fire ability with multiple levels and then after giving it to dummy I would set the faerie fire(on dummy) to level of thunder clap(on triggering unit).
 
Level 2
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
20
  • call RemoveLocation(udg_TempLocA)
  • call DestroyGroup(udg_TempGroup)
Is that the "action - Set Variable"? :eekani:

Cause atm it's like this

  • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_TempLocA)
  • Custom script: call DestroyGroup(udg_TempGroup)
Is it correctly done? :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top