• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

A strange error message when playing a custom game, any solutions?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hello! I used to play Warcraft 3 in the past long before it was turned into Reforge, there is an old map I wanted to revisit I had played as a child so I downloaded it off this site and another version from EpicWar but both versions of the map wouldn't work. It was Wolf Packs Alpha by Darkwulfv. However, when I try to run it in Reforged I get a really strange error message and I am not sure how to go about fixing it. I am not very tech savvy and I am unfamiliar with Reforged vs the classic. So I am hoping perhaps there is a way to get this game to work in Reforged, or is it a sad case of the remaster breaking the game? Thank you in advance if you have any insight, and I will post the screenshot below.

1668688127129.png

Last edited:
Level 29
Some older maps are incompatible with Warcraft 3 Reforged (or latest version of Warcraft 3 Classic), but others still playable. However, in the latter case, you might get various issues such as green icons. This is likely because the map uses the legacy models.
Also, your version of Warcraft 3 Reforged seems to be 1.33.0.19308. I really don't recommend playing some older maps on that version since there are a lot of features that are broken with this version.

Level 1
Some older maps are incompatible with Warcraft 3 Reforged (or latest version of Warcraft 3 Classic), but others still playable. However, in the latter case, you might get various issues such as green icons. This is likely because the map uses the legacy models.