1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

5800 errors. Rui and VG, still have no answer

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by Ramza, Oct 30, 2005.

  1. Ramza

    Ramza

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,194
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    VG once said that maybe the import manager wasd full, its not.

    Rui once asked what kind of errors they were, they are all compile errors. Only errors from the trigger editor. it goes sumthing like this:
    line 7685 excepted a name
    line 7845 .....
    etc.

    How can I fix this? I really want to upload my map.
     
  2. N00byStance

    N00byStance

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Resources:
    14
    Models:
    13
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    14
    It really seems that it's the one-line bug which causes parser to go crazy.

    Are you using any "Custom script" actions or any JASS stuff except GUI?
     
  3. Rui

    Rui

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,491
    Resources:
    8
    Maps:
    8
    Resources:
    8
    That probably happens because of triggers. Anyway, I think the map is still playable.

    -Rui
     
  4. qwerty

    qwerty

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    695
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    check the map's custom script. also,

    you have violated a rule by posting for a specific person.
     
  5. VampireKB

    VampireKB

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    Several conditions may make this errors:
    1) Bad custom script codes
    2) bad using of sounds in a game(several times i have it :\ )
    3) Game have "No liscene" (Pirate version)
    4) 1 of files that used for scripting is corrupted.
    They are: storm.dll (if i right)
     
  6. N00byStance

    N00byStance

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Resources:
    14
    Models:
    13
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    14
    ... :roll:
     
  7. Ramza

    Ramza

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,194
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    ye, in the beginning I imported vex's caster system, but if that is the error, then why do the errors occur this late and not earlier? oh ye, I also imported some fake 'error' maker (almost the same time as caster system)

    Its not. When I push start in warcraft, it loks like the game starts, but before the loading screen appears, it goes back to start screen.

    I didnt post for a specific person, I just mentioned that VG and Rui didnt have an answer yet.

    My Storm.dll is ok, I use it for other stuff to (image extractor)

    but what do u mean with the game has no licence?
     
  8. Ramza

    Ramza

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,194
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    I removed the caster system, now I only have.... 4810 errors! But I dont want to remove the rest of my script cuz then the 'play sound for player' and other stuff wont work (WEU Functions) So I really need to know another way to fix it...
     
  9. VampireKB

    VampireKB

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    (WEU Functions)
    Here is your main problem.
    WEU makes map uncomfortable.WEU makes glitches.

    i craft map at WEU only onces (Fantasy World) and that map WON'T start map after loading screen.

    Reason: WEU itself.
     
  10. Modeler

    Modeler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    496
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I have said it at least a hundred times, i'll say it again:
    WEU SUCKS!
     
  11. VGsatomi

    VGsatomi

    Webmaster's Council

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,159
    Resources:
    27
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    25
    Resources:
    27
    Ah, you are using WEU? Well that explains it. Use the official editor to avoid problems like these.
    -VGsatomi
     
  12. Tr!KzZ

    Tr!KzZ

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    800
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    18
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    9
    Resources:
    29
    not really ^^ WEU isnt that bad and u dont get this errors cuz of this. but as a few guys mentioned is because of the triggers, i got same problems with custom scripts (i used normal editor at this time, and I never got any errors with WEU) its because some files are missing or wrong importet... i have added for a test a lot of spells into one map and as i importet the caster syste mi cant save the map because i also get hundreds of errors. its just because 1. u havent imported it correct. 2. or u have forgot to import some things. sometimes it could be that the system he used in the map is specific for the map and needs a lot of other triggers there otherwhise u will get errors because some files are missing or names are wrong whatever... i dont know anything about jass or custom scripts i just wanted to make a map with them and all wa working, but as i importet the caster system i get errors... i cant say more about it ^^ but maybe it helps :)
     
  13. Modeler

    Modeler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    496
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Weu causes several errors, and doesnt work with multi-player gaming. Its basicaly the lazy version of WE.

    Then again, maybe im just old school. :p.
     
  14. Ramza

    Ramza

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,194
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    ok, so I must not use WEU, but then I have to delete those advanced triggers, and then I cant make fake errors and sound for players and stuff...
     
  15. Modeler

    Modeler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    496
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  16. Ramza

    Ramza

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,194
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Maybe some, but not all, cuz I have some big triggers with for example only 2 advanced functions. But I cant use JASS and GUI in one trigger. (example: wait for unit enters rect, and then the actions continue)
     
  17. N00byStance

    N00byStance

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Resources:
    14
    Models:
    13
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    14
    Use "Custom script:" actions... :roll: And your functions put into map script, then call them with "Custom script" in any trigger you like.
     
  18. Ramza

    Ramza

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,194
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    hmmm... I dunno what ye mean :?