• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

random FATAL ERROR!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
The subject of this post is : While playing my AoS map, occasionaly, all players will get a critical error/ FATAL ERROR!, and their wc3 will shut down including me.

About the map: AoE type of map. Uses GUI, around 5 ko weigth, lots of triggers. I've been making it for the past 3 years. Me and my friends are playing it every day. Crashes started to happen about 3 months ago. I will attach the map to that post.

About the crashes:

- It never happens when there are 4 players or less (the game needs to be pretty full-housed). The more players in the game, the more it tends to crash.
- It happens approx. 1 game out of 3.
- I can open it in WE and it runs smoothly
- Since the happening of crashes, I am taking note of the heroes/spells used in every game that crashes. With +/- 30 crashes, I can't find any correlation.
- Crashes tend to happen in the middle of TEAM FIGHTS

Things i suspected/still suspect

- Leaks. I tried removing all of them, but as long as I know, they can lag, but barely would they cause a crash...
- Special effects. The fact it happens during team fights makes me think it has something to do either with an overdose of SFX, sounds or informations.
- Infinite trigger? If that was it, crashes would not be random.
- Windows 7. Can it be incompatibility?
- Lightning effects. I heard they can cause crashes O,o? I only use a very small amount of those however...
- Loops. I never go faster than 0.05 time event looping triggers. However, if three spells using 0.05 time event run simultaneously, could it crash?