• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Criticism needed for my icon

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 13
Hey guys, I've been around for about a year now but I still havn't contibuted to the site yet. So recently I decided to attemt somthing, here is my icon:

BTNParchedEarth.jpg
DISBTNParchedEarth.jpg
PASParchedEarth.jpg
DISPASParchedEarth.jpg

BTNParchedEarth3.jpg
DISBTNParchedEarth3.jpg
PASParchedEarth3.jpg
DISPASParchedEarth3.jpg

BTNBrokenEarth.jpg
DISBTNBrokenEarth.jpg
PASBrokenEarth.jpg
DISPASBrokenEarth.jpg

If your wondering what it is, its just supposed to be like dried and cracked earth or somthing.

I'm still new to the whole icon-ing thing; so any feedback, suggestions, or criticism is more then welcome ;)

Last edited:
Level 13
Thanks I'll do more shading. And I'll try to darken it too, but is there a tool or somthing I could use to darken the image, or will I have to go over everything with darker colours?

And about the dagger, I will try to finish it after this one. This was just supposed to be a little test of Gimp (since I just got it a few days ago) But I ended up making somthing cool out of it ^^

Thanks alot for Gimp though, I can't believe how dumb paint looks now that I have this.

Level 13
Especially the cracks, got it ;)
I'll also give them downward streaks to make the icon look more 3D

Also I did make a small dagger icon WIP on paint, so I guess its my second icon :p

And thank you for the comment and the rep :)

Level 13
Updated!
but without stones yet.

I'll do that tomorrow, but feel free to tell me what you think ;)