• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

What the hell are these things ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 15
Hi
I am an JASS amateur. you can say I just understand the syntax

In many spells and systems, I find requirements be :
- Units Indexer ...
- Libraries ...

And some other things lel.

I've read their descriptions, I still don't know their usefulness

Anyone who gives a brief definition for them is kewjl lel, I mean I will appreciate his help :D

Functions in jass have only access to functions that are placed above after compilation.

JASS:
function A takes nothing returns nothing
    call B()    //won't work
endfunction

function B takes nothing returns nothing
    call A()    // works
endfunction

So if you make a system that should work for all functions you must ensure that it gets above them all. How? --> library (library is a vJass feature, not jass)

JASS:
library Test

function A takes nothing returns nothing
    endfunction

endlibrary
Now all functions have access to function A.

So a library is just a collection of code that is useable by all non-library code, because library compiled code is placed above.

But in case library A needs access to functions from library B, you have to use the requires keyword to ensure correct compilation:
JASS:
library A requires B

function a takes nothing returns nothing
        call b()
    endfunction

endlibrary
JASS:
library B

function b takes nothing returns nothing
    endfunction