1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Travel to distant realms and encounter scenes unknown to the common folk. The Greatest of Adventures is upon us with the 8th Cinematic Contest. Join in on a fun ride.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

what is wrong?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Dracula, Aug 18, 2007.

  1. Dracula

    Dracula

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    i made this trigger, and when ever i use it, warcraft crash to desktop with no error messages.

    • booster
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Is issued an order with no target
      • Conditions
        • (Issued order) Equal to (Order(stop))
      • Actions
        • For each (Integer A) from 1 to 20, do (Actions)
          • Loop - Actions
            • Unit - Move (Ordered unit) instantly to ((Position of (Ordered unit)) offset by 20.00 towards (Facing of (Ordered unit)) degrees)
            • Wait 0.10 seconds
     
  2. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    well, i'm not sure, but maybe the "move instantly" action automaticaly give a stop order to the unit (for exemple, when the unit move, it is moved and stopped)

    if i'm right, you've created and infinite loop:
    when a unit receive stop order, you give it 20 stop order...
     
  3. Dracula

    Dracula

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    yea i changed it and now my warcraft wont crash, but it moves the unit to center of the map, instead of position of unit...
     
  4. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    so maybe the "Ordered unit" isn't the best event response
    did you try with "triggering unit"? does it works?
     
  5. busterkomo

    busterkomo

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,423
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    From what i understand the unit will just move to it's current position, crashing the game, please expand on what you would like to happen.
     
  6. Dracula

    Dracula

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    i made the unit cast an ability, thats all i changed and added leak remove.

    i want to make a trigger that when a unit uses this ability it will make them go zoom fast on where thier facing, so far what is happening now is, when a unit uses this ability it makes them move to center of map, the position of triggering unit is not working.
     
  7. Just_Spectating

    Just_Spectating

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,023
    Resources:
    46
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    9
    Skins:
    26
    Resources:
    46
    if it is doing that action 20 times i think it loses the point after the first time
     
  8. busterkomo

    busterkomo

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,423
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    This worked for me:
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Finishes casting an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Divine Shield
    • Actions
      • For each (Integer A) from 1 to 20, do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Unit - Move (Triggering unit) instantly to ((Position of (Triggering unit)) offset by 30.00 towards (Facing of (Triggering unit)) degrees)


    Change divine shield to the name of your spell.
     
  9. Eleandor

    Eleandor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,681
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    make sure you fix the leaks or you leak 20 point variables each time you cast the spell
     
  10. Deathclaw24

    Deathclaw24

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Resources:
    2
    Icons:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    why dont u just make the trigger so it moves the unit then add a wait and then copy n paste that 20 times

    unit starts ability (or finishes)

    move unit offset by 20
    wait 0.01 (or w.e)
    move unit offset by 20
    wait 0.01 (or w.e)
    move unit offset by 20
    wait 0.01 (or w.e)

    etc... 20 times
     
  11. busterkomo

    busterkomo

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,423
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    That was just a quick 30 second trigger i made.
     
  12. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Deathclaw24, his trigger was crashing the game

    doing exactly the same thing with an other paraphrase won't change anything

    the move action order the unit to stop, so you can't use a move action in a stop order event detect, that make an infinite recursivity:
    he order the unit to stop, that's run the trigger
    the trigger order the unit to stop 20 time, that's rerun the trigger 20 time
    the 20 triggers order the unit to stop 20x20 time
    20x20x20
    20x20x20x20
    20x20x20x20x20
    and it's never end until warcraft overflow the ram and crash...

    PS: i'm not sure of all that, i haven't checked this
     
  13. Just_Spectating

    Just_Spectating

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,023
    Resources:
    46
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    9
    Skins:
    26
    Resources:
    46
    i would do this in such an easy fasion with maybe 1 leak in it which is probably easy to fix with a custom script but i have no idea how to work that thing lol
     
  14. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Nota: i've tested it and i'm right, the move instantly event issue a stop order to the unit.