• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • ✅ The POLL for Hive's Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Vote for the TOP 3 SKINS! 🔗Click here to cast your vote!

what is wrong?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 9
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
511
i made this trigger, and when ever i use it, warcraft crash to desktop with no error messages.

  • booster
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Is issued an order with no target
    • Conditions
      • (Issued order) Equal to (Order(stop))
    • Actions
      • For each (Integer A) from 1 to 20, do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Unit - Move (Ordered unit) instantly to ((Position of (Ordered unit)) offset by 20.00 towards (Facing of (Ordered unit)) degrees)
          • Wait 0.10 seconds
 
Level 9
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
659
well, i'm not sure, but maybe the "move instantly" action automaticaly give a stop order to the unit (for exemple, when the unit move, it is moved and stopped)

if i'm right, you've created and infinite loop:
when a unit receive stop order, you give it 20 stop order...
 
Level 17
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
1,433
i made this trigger, and when ever i use it, warcraft crash to desktop with no error messages.

  • booster
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Is issued an order with no target
    • Conditions
      • (Issued order) Equal to (Order(stop))
    • Actions
      • For each (Integer A) from 1 to 20, do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Unit - Move (Ordered unit) instantly to ((Position of (Ordered unit)) offset by 20.00 towards (Facing of (Ordered unit)) degrees)
          • Wait 0.10 seconds

From what i understand the unit will just move to it's current position, crashing the game, please expand on what you would like to happen.
 
Level 9
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
511
i made the unit cast an ability, thats all i changed and added leak remove.

i want to make a trigger that when a unit uses this ability it will make them go zoom fast on where thier facing, so far what is happening now is, when a unit uses this ability it makes them move to center of map, the position of triggering unit is not working.
 
Level 17
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
1,433
This worked for me:
  • Events
    • Unit - A unit Finishes casting an ability
  • Conditions
    • (Ability being cast) Equal to Divine Shield
  • Actions
    • For each (Integer A) from 1 to 20, do (Actions)
      • Loop - Actions
        • Unit - Move (Triggering unit) instantly to ((Position of (Triggering unit)) offset by 30.00 towards (Facing of (Triggering unit)) degrees)
Change divine shield to the name of your spell.
 
Level 6
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
81
why dont u just make the trigger so it moves the unit then add a wait and then copy n paste that 20 times

unit starts ability (or finishes)

move unit offset by 20
wait 0.01 (or w.e)
move unit offset by 20
wait 0.01 (or w.e)
move unit offset by 20
wait 0.01 (or w.e)

etc... 20 times
 
Level 9
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
659
Deathclaw24, his trigger was crashing the game

doing exactly the same thing with an other paraphrase won't change anything

the move action order the unit to stop, so you can't use a move action in a stop order event detect, that make an infinite recursivity:
he order the unit to stop, that's run the trigger
the trigger order the unit to stop 20 time, that's rerun the trigger 20 time
the 20 triggers order the unit to stop 20x20 time
20x20x20
20x20x20x20
20x20x20x20x20
and it's never end until warcraft overflow the ram and crash...

PS: i'm not sure of all that, i haven't checked this
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top