• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

[General] Warcraft3 Editor, The way to go?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello there,
I am quite new to making my own maps, but i really enjoy it and want to improve.
Now my big question is, is the original wc3 editor the way to go, or are there other programs to used, that are better/ more user friendly. (I heard something about "warcraft editor unlimited")

Certanly, i try hard to get the informations i need through testing and experimenting, and reading stuff i find, but some things are quite complicated in my eyes.
Could really use some help from this great comunity^^

Also, if i am working on a projekt where i have more questions, is it better to do new threads for every problem, or one thread where i collect all of them?

Best regards
Cookie
(English not my native language, i hope it is not too bad :D )

Level 7
Well, my friend, I will not recommend you the World Editor Unlimited because it is not up to date and is perhaps still in v1.21. Well, if you are really new to World Editor, first make two or three maps and know the basics of the Editor, because jumping to another program without knowing the basics of the Editor is just like learning to run without learning to walk.
And another setback in WE Unlimited is that it causes your game to lag and also, you will be unable to open your map in WE. I have tried to use it, believe me.