1. Melee Mapping contest #3 - Poll is up! Vote for the best 4v4 melee maps!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The 30th edition of the Modeling Contest is finally up! The Portable Buildings need your attention, so come along and have a blast!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have a new contest going on right now! Join the 11th Music Contest! You are to make a Cinematic modern sound-track for this contest, so come and compete with other people for fun.
    Dismiss Notice

Using Garena for Warcraft 3

Discussion in 'Warcraft Town Hall' started by skelguardian, Nov 6, 2014.

  1. skelguardian

    skelguardian

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hey all,

    I've recently heard alot of people say I should use garena to play warcraft 3 instead through battlenet.
    I've downloaded it, but have no idea how to add warcraft 3 to it or something?

    Or am I totally missunderstanding them o_O?
     
  2. VeljkoM

    VeljkoM

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,554
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    What they have failed to tell you is that Garena removed LAN feature few months ago, and only some countries can still use it (I only know so far that Bulgarians can). If there is a trick to still use it I don't know. Since you can play on battlenet why not play there, it can't be that bad.
     
  3. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,301
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  4. E.M.C

    E.M.C

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Fuck Garena for quietly taking LAN off and pretending it never existed.
     
  5. skelguardian

    skelguardian

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ahh, thanks guys. Downloaded it for nothing then.. haha :D

    But the problem is, I still don't understand what it does exactly? i'm a huge noob at this thing - but appearantly when u use another program (gameranger then) there are less bots??
     
  6. skelguardian

    skelguardian

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Nevermind, I get it now - just installed it haha

    Alot of DOTA I must say... sadly :(
     
  7. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    There is indeed lots of dota on gameranger too, but some of it is categorized separately from other custom maps.
    Also, unlike with garena, bots don't appear to harm actual players, because there is no way a bot can stop you from hosting.
     
  8. skelguardian

    skelguardian

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Mmmh. It seems the problem with gameranger with me is I constantly get the error "No late joining" on 90% of the games..

    Thing is, After that error - the game doesn't disappear from the list either, it just stays there... If that game already started, shouldn't it be removed from the list normally...?
     
  9. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    Gameranger is designed for many kinds of games, not just warcraft III. Some allow late joining, but not warcraft. You can find open games by looking at those that don't have the green circle next to them. You can even sort them based on that I suppose.
     
  10. Xarwin

    Xarwin

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,233
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
  11. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,042
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    Eurobattle has a strange scheme for accounts. Basically you have a eurobattle account, which lets you make a server account. Also, server accounts only last 1 month after which they must be extended.
     
  12. scoolharis

    scoolharis

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Garena is stupid
    why they removed the lan button
    and why some country can see the lan button not all country
     
  13. Mythic

    Mythic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7,467
    Resources:
    41
    Models:
    29
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    41
    Maybe the LAN function couldn't be sustained because of low income.
     
  14. Matt.J

    Matt.J

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Although there was no official word for Garena's LAN restrictions I would say it's something to do with copyright infringement (it certainly breaks War3's EULA). The country's that have been prohibited frequently have more mature IP laws, ergo, pose a greater legal threat to the company.

    For example, compare a few countries (these are just off the top of my head which come from testing a lot of proxies (one way to still access the LAN feature from a banned country))

    Banned: Australia, United States, United Kingdom, Sweden, Germany, China
    Allowed: Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Pakistan, Uganda, Brazil

    Interesting to note however that the rooms of banned countries are still visible (and accessible) and, unsurprisingly, are occupied by a handful of 'hostbots'
     
  15. scoolharis

    scoolharis

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Just Six Country Allowed