• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Timed Turn Based Fighting System

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Hello, I am a noob. I'm trying to build a D&D type map. What I mean by that is the units will be used as figurines and they will have custom spells and abilities to fight with. I have done quite a bit already, but one problem I am running into is that I want to create a system where players take turns after being assigned numbers for their turns. I also want them to have only 180 seconds or 3 min to make their turn before moving on to the next player.

I have a system for players to choose their heroes/figurines. I placed power circles on the ground in front of pre-placed hero units and gave the players whisps to use as indicators to choose which power circle to step on. When they step on the circle the whisp is removed and the players hero/figurine appears at a specified region.

Once the player gets their hero/figurine how to I tell the computer to "freeze" all the figurines on the map during a battle mode sequence?

One thing I've been tinkering with is changing the ownership of the players hero/figurine to neutral passive but then how do I tell the world editor to change the ownership back to the previous owner and then move on to the next player in the initiative sequence order?

I'm sorry if I haven't explained my problem well. If you feel that my question is lacking info please let me know. Maybe I can give you more details.

Also if you do have an answer for me please remember i'm a noob and I need it explained in a very simple way.