1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Terrain Model

Discussion in 'Requests' started by Teldrassil, May 15, 2009.

  1. Teldrassil

    Teldrassil

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    6
    Hey guys, I'm looking for a model that when re sized, is the entire terrain. I mean something like a detailed castle, or a landscape.

    basically, it's all the doodads, landscape, and buildings, in one big model file, I'm expecting something that when imported, takes 3 000 kb alone.

    I'm not really looking for anything specific, I'm more wondering if it could be done than anything else, and if it can, I can make anything useful.

    -Teld
     
  2. Velmarshal

    Velmarshal

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  3. Airandius

    Airandius

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,238
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    It's called being to lazy to make a terrain.
    No you can't find models for an entire terrain nor would anybody make it.
    Just use models to build your own unique with more details terrain.
     
  4. Avator

    Avator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,309
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I doubt it's laziness if he makes the terrain himself. It's either modelling or terraining, but both take time and effort.

    Whether or not this is possible, depends on what you implement in it. If there's a lot of animation in it or if it's really large (which is easily done if you want the entire terrain filled of a Medium size map), you'll probably get lag. As for the file size: The more detailed and animated, the bigger the file size. If you want to use this technique for a multiplayer map, I can tell you you're not going to get satisfying results if you try this, because something like this will consume a lot of file size, which is limited for multiplayer.
     
  5. chilla_killa

    chilla_killa

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,376
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    34
    Icons:
    5
    Resources:
    39
    Look this will help you a lot!!! 1000 models for terraining!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Velmarshal

    Velmarshal

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,531
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    But not all of them are needed.
     
  7. Catch_ya

    Catch_ya

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    981
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You just point the doodas out you want and export them.
     
  8. Teldrassil

    Teldrassil

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    402
    Resources:
    6
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    6
    haha, I have no problem terraining, I am more curious than anything else. It would be hard to make, of this I am well aware, but as far as mapping goes it would be pretty easy to set up, and you can set all the specifics. Maybe not a very complicated terrain like a castle, but something like a landscape would be cool.

    I took a model from here once, the Pandaren Building1 by killst4r and resized it to try it that way, didn't look too bad except it looked like a room for giants.

    I'm not looking for doodads in order to put together to make the terrain, nor is it out of laziness that I ask this. I just think it would be pretty awesome, and very useful.
     
  9. Discipline

    Discipline

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    351
    Resources:
    7
    Icons:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    It would be hard to make, and wouldn't work well. To make it work you would need to also make a very efficient and intricate pathing map for the model, and wouldn't be able to have any parts of the model sit above the walkable area, eg ceilings and arches, because the unit models would just walk over the top of them. Also it would limit your interactivity with the terrain, as things like trees would be set in place and unusable as resources. Also, if you used this model instead of terraining then everyones map would just end up looking the same.

    Finally, worst of all would be it's filesize, which would be huge... hence why people make the model kits you combine to make scenery and structures. Why create 1 big useless model with a standard shape that can not even be played on b.net, when you can create individual walls etc. that you only have to import once and then can place as need be? For instance, a full size terrain model would essentially have you import the same wall hundreds of times in the same model, so where a castle wall is only 10kb on it's own, the walls of this 'useful' model alone would account for 50% of your total import allowance.