• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Starcraft II's place on this site.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 11
Hello. Ive been using the hive workshop since 2006. The features Ive enjoyed most of this site is the guide in the top left that will quickly take me to the maps section, the skins section, the models section, etc. I think it would be great if this was the same deal for Starcraft II, just in blue. Ive searched through the Starcraft II forum, News, Site Discussion, and I cant seem to find any talk about this specific feature that I enjoy so much. Is this something that is being discussed or thought about somewhere?

All I want is organized, easy, and quick access to go from the User CP (which is what is bookmarked on my computer) to the maps (to check if any interesting new maps are out) to models (to see if their are any interesting models out) and etc for the other aspects of modding.

Pardon me if this is idea already has its own topic. I see other threads talking about "themes" and "Forum-trees" but not this.

Level 36
When it comes to SC2, we really have two problems, it seems.

If we don't emphasize SC2, Hive will probably fall behind the other modding sites in activity and relevance, because the other sites will be catering to SC2 mappers and giving them a better environment to post their maps, questions, etc.

If we fully emphasize SC2, WC3 modding will die. Hive really is the only reason WC3 modding is still active, sure you could say WC3C etc are important as well, but those sites are so inactive that they don't even really factor into the equation, despite how good their modders are. Hive has all of the activity.