• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Spell Book Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 10
Hi, im new to spell books and have a few questions about them.

1. Do i need to trigger spell abilitys that the player has choosen to level up, to remove the old level and add the new level.

2. Can spell books only use unit abilitys, or can you add hero aswell, i am having trouble with this.

3. Similar to number 1, if you are stuck using unit abilitys only can you not jus create a unit ability with multiple levels?

4. do i need to add the spell book to the unit as it is created, or cn you have it already on the unit when created like a defualt ability?

5. I understand i need to have minimumn/maximum spells set to 11 due to bugs etc, is this okay even if i only intend to use say 8 spells per hero?

many thanks

Level 21
Hi, im new to spell books and have a few questions about them.

1. Do i need to trigger spell abilitys that the player has choosen to level up, to remove the old level and add the new level.
Just use the "Increase level of ability" gui action on the ability inside the spellbook.

2. Can spell books only use unit abilitys, or can you add hero aswell, i am having trouble with this.
Only unit abilities. As they too can have levels, there isn't a whole world of difference between hero and unit abilities.

3. Similar to number 1, if you are stuck using unit abilitys only can you not jus create a unit ability with multiple levels?
Basically, yes, and you can level up through that action.

4. do i need to add the spell book to the unit as it is created, or cn you have it already on the unit when created like a defualt ability?