• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

[JASS] Setting an ABSOLUTE z height

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
I have a problem...
I need to set an "absolute" height on the z-axis. In my test map, the values returned are correct, but the object still "rises" over cliffs, forming an upside-down V.

I'm doing all this in vJASS. I'm still learning a little, so don't flame me, if this is a simple question (even though, I can assume it is not). :hohum:

:fp: I'm using GetLocationZFixed(x,y) to detect the terrain height at the designated area... it returns correctly.

:fp: I'm using a formula that finds the constant velocity vector (x,y,z) and stores it in the projectile, so that I just multiply that by speed * tick-time.

All I want is for it to go in a dead straight line from point A (x,y,z) to point B (x,y,z), without terrain effecting it at all. On flat terrain, I've achieved that, but with cliffs or deformations... that's another story.

I can post my code, if that helps. But, be forewarned, it is pretty long... a good hundred lines, possibly more, last time I looked at it.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. :thumbs_up:

And, if you help with a solution +rep for you... then I can go :mwahaha:

Attachments

• Kamahamaha Test.w3x
    69.5 KB · Views: 65
Last edited:
Level 13
Then your GetLocationZFixed sucks like hell :p
No, realy. If you use GetLocationZ correctly it'll work on any deformation and cliff, the only problem is the "bugged" result on water because it returns the ground and not the surface of the water... you should show your code I think :)

EDIT: @Day-Elven: That has NOTHING to do with flying heights? oO

Level 6