• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Seriously confused

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Hey everyone, noob here. I'm really confused, when I first found this website I thought that it was a simple case of extraction into the game files and hey-ho you've got a new model/hero/fish or whatever. Now I'm not so sure, and it seems as though you can only have models in World Editor, not in the game.

Can someone please correct me if I'm wrong and explain how I can do this in the simplest terms. I've modded games before but this one has thrown me completely :( though, I have only spent a couple of hours on the website.

I apologise if this has been answered in another forum/FAQ. Hope to hear from someone soon, thanks.

Reactions: Br0

Br0

Br0

Level 4
Hope you like modding Wc3 because it is definately worth it once you mastered the editor.

You can have models in-game and the editor, I really don't understand what you meant by that. All you have to do is import the models and textures while making sure everything is set to the correct path. Then after that you have to go into object editor and set the models to what you wanted/imported. You must use the import editor then once you import a .mdx or .mdl file, and it has no custom texture required then all you have to do is restart your editor, and then the models will appear for you in the object editor where you then can proceed to find the modelpath where then you use the custom button/option, and a drop box menu should appear as well. If it has a custom texture then you must figure out the path of it which is usually either remove the War3mapimported\ thing or replace that with Textures\

Level 3