1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Secrets of Warcraft 3 have revealed interesting works. The RESULTS for Abelhawk's Mini-Mapping Contest #15 have come out!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Night Rider gained several songs for his journey. The poll for the 12th Music Contest has started. Check it out!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Join other hivers in a friendly concept-art contest. The contestants have to create a genie coming out of its container. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  10. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Selfmade Model has no Animation and is totally Screwed Up When Imported

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by MAED, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. MAED

    MAED

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    I made my first model using GMax and finally imported it into one of my custom maps. What it turned out to look like is the following:

    [​IMG]

    The mesh seems to kind of "connect" to every model nearby. No idea where this is coming from. I tried removing all the Skin Modifiers from my meshes and the model looked as it should in W3. Problem is then of course, no animation.

    The strange thing is that in any case none of my set animation intervals are being recognized. As you can see in the screenshot above, there are no animation being displayed even in the editor, nor are there any played ingame. And I am actually pretty sure that I did everything write about setting the intervals. Looks like this in the mdl (only one animation for testing):

    Sequences 1 {
    Anim "Walk" {
    Interval { 0, 960 },
    MinimumExtent { -89.5747, -50.5221, -3.44595 },
    MaximumExtent { 71.0693, 63.6008, 414.119 },
    BoundsRadius 424.96,
    }
    }

    See attachments for the mdl and mdx as well as textures.

    The texture is also totally unfinished, but that's supposed to be that way since I am planning to correct this when the model itseld is working.

    Does anyone know a solution for these two problems?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. supertoinkz

    supertoinkz

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,812
    Resources:
    25
    Models:
    15
    Icons:
    7
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    25
    World Editor won't bother to show the animations list if the model only contains one animation.

    I have imported your model (without changing anything, directly from download) but the problem you speak of doesn't seem to happen. I have attached a picture, take a look.

    I'm guessing that the reason behind this large amount of polies.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Talavaj

    Talavaj

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,093
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    6
    Resources:
    6
    Obviously something wrong with skinning.
    Messed up weights or controllers or keys or anything.

    The model you uploaded I assume is the one with removed skinning, since it has no bones.
     
  4. MAED

    MAED

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks for the quick help.

    Yes, the uploaded model is the mostly working one. See this reply's attachment for the fucked up version and a map including a unit using this model.

    Animation is working now and also shown in the animation list in WE after I added two more animation.

    Large amount of polys could be a reason. Is there a maximum of polys to use for W3 models? Mine has a lot since I modelled even every single mag pouch.

    @Talavaj: What is there you can srew up with keys, weights etc? I've read that the Skin Modifier is a real unstable one and usually when experiencing any "weirdness" ingame you are supposed to do the Skinning all over again.

    Also, as far as I know you are supposed to select all the meshes you wanna export before doing so. Does this count for bones, too? Because I did. But I did not ever see bones in other custom models.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MAED

    MAED

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Tried removing most of the polys, no difference.

    Then I removed all Skin Modifiers and made a new one only for the left arm. Turns out like this:

    [​IMG]

    Looks like my bones are being randomly attached to other polys on the map. Is there something that could have gone wrong with IDs or something? Didnt even know there was something like this for bones...