Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

SC2 model editing

Discussion in 'StarCraft I & II' started by Arhowk, May 28, 2010.

  1. Arhowk

    Arhowk

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,752
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    3ds max free full

    Does anyone know a good model editor/tutorial/converter for sc2 that DOESNT cost me over $0.01?
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  2. KaboomMaster

    KaboomMaster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    327
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  3. Arhowk

    Arhowk

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,752
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Im pretty new :( ive never modeled b4

    Edit : im looking for 3ds max free full
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2010
  4. Weep

    Weep

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Then unless you can find someone very generous to give it to you as a gift, you are asking about piracy, which is, of course, forbidden.
     
  5. bboy-tiger-

    bboy-tiger-

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    There is trial version of 3dsmax for free, just to try it out. You can upgrade it then to full version if you want to.
     
  6. Arhowk

    Arhowk

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,752
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    z.z so there is no way to make sc2 models (yet) without buying something / breaking law? -.-
     
  7. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    I'd like to see an equivalent of War3 Model Editor that imports 3ds and saves as M3. That would allow people using other than 3ds max to export to 3ds and then to M3. Though I'm not sure what will remain as animation from double conversion.

    So they made an exporter for M3 for 3ds max a long time ago and yet no news anywhere that anyone is working on such tool or that such tools will be made ever.
     
  8. Trillium

    Trillium

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,641
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    erm, a bit nooby question, but would Milkshape work for SCII models?
     
  9. bboy-tiger-

    bboy-tiger-

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    No... been asked couple of times now...
     
  10. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    From what I understood the problem is that you can't make good animations... Otherwise I see no reason to be unusable, going to make good animations. I don't work on Human-like models that walk/jump etc so it wouldnt be a prob for me if this is the reason for not using ms3d.

    Ofc someone would need to write an exporter.
     
  11. Triceron

    Triceron

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You can use any 3D program to create content as long as you can export them out as a filetype that 3DSmax can recognize (.obj, .3ds, .fbz etc)

    3DS Max is currently the only program able to export models (using NiNtoxicated01's export script, and later when Blizzard releases their art tools). You can download the trial for 3DS Max for free, and it lasts 30 days. It's usable to export using the max scripts, and fully functional for that duration.

    You can use any free program to model/texture custom content, then simply install 3DS Max trial when you're ready to export. The only other solution is Gmax; though I don't know if the exporter is compatible with that.
     
  12. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    I can get 3ds max, the point is for me and many others, it is much, much lighter to use Milkshape for creating and texturing the mesh. So, all we need is an exporter and whoever wants to use ms3d whoever wants to use 3ds max.

    Do you know what is the most weird? It looks like the enthusiasts are gone. For war3 there were tools like War3 Model Editor since early times. TBH if they had a 'SC2 Model Editor' that can import Milkshape and 3DS MAX models and save it as M3, who would even need exporter plug ins? And I don't see any1 wanting to make plugin for MS3D, not to say a 'SC2 Model Editor'. Gee where is the news that such great tool will be made?
     
  13. bboy-tiger-

    bboy-tiger-

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Art tools for wc3 were great. Nothing was better than Art Tools when it comes to wc3 modeling plug ins.
     
  14. killer1390

    killer1390

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0

    Too bad it was so terribly difficult to get a copy of 3dsmax 5. Lol.