1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Questions

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Vikus, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. Vikus

    Vikus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    1. Can anyone give me a trigger that would give a locked 3rd person view over a unit/hero, and have the camera turn to where the unit is facing, like a real 3rd person view?

    2. Can anyone link a guide to Cinematics? I'm in need of one because I'm horrible at them. Cameras been giving me problems.

    3. An Interact ability is something I need, but I have no idea how to make one. It's going to be a required feature for my RPG.

    4. I know this is possible, but I have no idea how: How can I use more tiles in my tileset w/ out the limit, or change them without removing whats already in place? I know this can be done because in SotDRP you can place any terrain you want anywhere.

    5. This has always bugged me: How can I create an item directly into a heros inventory, or create the item at all? Every time I go to trigger this I usually have to have a pre-placed item already on the map, and then it copies that. (Apparently selecting one from the list of items in the Items unit menu doesn't work.)

    6. Bosses and Raids - Can anyone give me tips on this? Just opinions or anything.

    7. Changing the amount of health/damage/mana/armor you get per how many points? (Hero attributes, ex: 3 str points = 1 damage / 75 health or ex: 2 int = 1 damage / 30 mana)

    8. How to make a spellbook? I plan on having it so you learn spells throughout the game rather than having preset spells.

    I don't use jass at all, and don't know how, I'm using GUI triggers for this.
    Thanks to everyone that can help.
     
  2. Vikus

    Vikus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    bump
     
  3. ZiggyMcjoney

    ZiggyMcjoney

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    http://world-editor-tutorials.thehelper.net/cat_usersubmit.php?view=57377
    http://world-editor-tutorials.thehelper.net/cat_usersubmit.php?view=15560
    and one on cameras:
    http://world-editor-tutorials.thehelper.net/cat_usersubmit.php?view=44684

    Create an ability based off of Channel, set the fields to how you want them. Make triggers for things that need to be interacted with - when that ability is cast on the object, it does a certain thing. You will most likely have to make a trigger or atleast a set of actions for each individual type of object.

    Hero - Create Item for Hero

    Boss fights always get old when you do them alot, so making bosses that have randomly selected ability sets could be fun, I've always thought. It would be cool if the abilities it was using are only revealed during the fight, so that the player never knows what to expect, and has to prepare for several different outcomes until he knows which one is definitely coming next.

    Use the Gameplay Constants.
    Advanced > Gameplay Constants
    Then tick "Use custom gameplay constants"
    Then find these fields:
    Hero Attributes - Attack bonus per primary attribute point
    Hero Attributes - Attack speed bonus per agility point
    etc etc.
    You cannot, however, make intelligence give more damage than strength, they have to give the same amount - you could trigger it, however. Whenever a unit increases in an attribute, increase the level of an ability that adds to their damage.

    There is an ability called "Spellbook". It is under the Special > Items category in the object editor. Just edit the fields how you want them.

    Hope that all helped.
     
  4. Pharaoh_

    Pharaoh_

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,128
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    JNGP enables you raising that limit. It's a custom World Editor with enhanced features.
    Link: http://www.wc3c.net/showthread.php?t=90999

    • Trigger
    • Events
      • Time - Every 0.05 seconds of game-time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Player Group - Pick every player in (All players) and do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Set Temp_Group (Units owned by (Picked player) matching (((Matching unit) is a Hero) Equal to True))
          • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Temp_Group) and do (Actions)
            • Loop - Actions
              • Camera - Set (Picked player)'s Rotation to (Facing of (Picked unit))
              • Camera - Set (Picked player)'s Angle of Attack to 342.28
          • Custom script: call DestoryGroup (udg_Temp_Group)

    I guess you will have one hero for each player. Although this one is a bit inefficient, because it picks units in a unit group instead of retreiving the hero himself, the other way requires hashtables.
    The Camera action is the "Camera - Set Camera field (timed)".

    References:
    [•] http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/trigger-gui-editor-tutorials-279/variables-5896/
    [•] http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/triggers-scripts-269/things-leak-35124/

    Others:
    [•] http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/trigger-gui-editor-tutorials-279/mysteries-spellbook-33039/
    [•] http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/trigger-gui-editor-tutorials-279/hashtables-mui-133407/
    [•] http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tutorials/
     
  5. Vikus

    Vikus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks, I really appreciate the help, I was needing all of this badly. +rep to both of you, and I will check out JNGP.
     
  6. Player

    Player

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yo people hope you're in the mood of explaining to a beginner with the editor on how to make some (maybe simple) things?
    So I've imported units and buildings I downloaded from this site, the problem I encounter (I think applies to both-buildings and units) is that I used some units as base to import the new models! I made some of the imported units bigger than the size of the base and some smaller (the same goes for the Buildings) BUT when I test the map, there appear to be two problems:
    1. The creatures/buildings that are smaller in size than the base ones can't be attacked by any of the melee units and there's something like a "force" not allowing them to go near enough to attack the building/unit;
    2. The creatures/buildings that are bigger than the base one are like ghostly ones when a unit goes near them it moves right trough its periphery( like moving through it, but not trough the center of the unit/building)
    All this although I've made the selection circle in the correct size for every unit/building!
    Does this has to have any connection with "Collision size"? (I don't know what this "Collision size" means...) if you want I can add a picture to see what I mean?
    I would appreciate any help!
     
  7. Pharaoh_

    Pharaoh_

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,128
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    Yes, that is a matter of the collision size. Collision size is a value that defines how close a unit can come to another unit. The bigger the value, the less closer a unit can be next to another. Selection circle doesn't affect the collision size, it's just under the Art category, which pretty much doesn't affect anything but visible changes.

    The fact that they cannot be targeted in game is a matter of the model. Let the author know of this problem. They actually lack some basic bone (collision shape is its name), which is used for moving the model around. I guess you can't place them properly in the editor too, right?

    Finally, you can start your own thread, you don't have to post your questions into other threads.