• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Question about my coding style

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hey, I'm a long-time GUI coder, who fairly recently switched over to vJASS. I'm able to accomplish most things that I try to do, and I use natives and clean leaks and such.

However, what I'm curious about is why it seems all the code I see from other people on the forums and such is different than mine. A lot of people seem to use Structs as their initializers, and differences like that.
Also there is all the external libraries that people use, like TimerUtils and such, that I never really understood that well.

My question for you guys is what's wrong with my coding style, because it's different than what everyone else seems to do. I don't mean like "how exactly would you do this one part more efficiently?" but just what can you gleam as being incorrect about the whole code style / format?

Example of my coding style
JASS:
library Setup initializer Init
//===========================================================================

globals
        unit array pl_base[8]
        unit array pl_hero[8]
        hashtable array pl_table[8]
    endglobals

private function Start takes nothing returns nothing
        local integer i = 0
        local real x
        local real y
        local rect r = gg_rct_Center
        local rect r2

loop
            exitwhen i == 1
            if GetPlayerSlotState(Player(i)) == PLAYER_SLOT_STATE_PLAYING then