• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Problem with Wc3 Model Editor, can't import external model files

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 15
HI, I'm Mulgrim. I am new to Hive and anything that is WC editing related(but not so much :wink:) I have been reading many, many tutorials on modeling,
2D editing, terraining. and know a litle something about triggers, so I have decided it is time to begin a map of my own with custom model files :smile:. But now to what happened during the making of my custom models part, I downloaded a model that I liked from here(Chaos Marauder.mdx), but everytime that i try to open it in the Wc3 Model Viewer it says:

Unable to load, (-location of file here-) unknown extension!

Probably it is something very simple that i will soon feel really stupid about, but I don't know what else to do, I tried to convert it using the MDLX converter found here as well, to open it in Oinkerwinkle's Vertex Modifier but it gives me another error saying: File type error. The file I attempted to convert was MDX, i don't know what could have happened. please help, i don't know what else to do, please help, any help at all with be apreciated, thanks.

BTW I live in Italy (moved from U.S, 3 months ago) and right now it's 12 pm, and i have school tomorrow, so I will not be able to answer anything until tomorrow, this same hour or in the morning (for me, 11pm (west coast time) for you).

~ Mulgrim

Level 15
---------------------------
Error
Unable to load "C:\Users\katia\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\H502T4MH\ChaosMarauder[3]", unknown extention!
OK