• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

[Solved] Players and Forces

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
Joined
Aug 7, 2012
Messages
68
Hello there,

Is there any way to lock the player in a team when they join the game ? For example, creator of the game is (naturally) on the first slot as Player 1 and I want to prevent him from moving to any other team even if they are set as "Open". I am nearly sure there isn't such an option ... but maybe I am blind. "Fixed Player Settings" does not prevent players from switching their teams.

My goal is to make sure Player 1 is always taken, if that's any help.

Thanks in advance.
 
Level 22
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
892
Are you talking about the lobby screen before the game starts, or during the game itself? In the lobby, I don't think there is a way to lock a player into a particular slot. You can block slots from being occupied by players.

What exactly are you trying to do with this?
 
Level 5
Joined
Aug 7, 2012
Messages
68
Are you talking about the lobby screen before the game starts, or during the game itself? In the lobby, I don't think there is a way to lock a player into a particular slot. You can block slots from being occupied by players.

What exactly are you trying to do with this?

I am talking about the lobby screen yeah. I couldn't find a way to do it but I wanted to know for sure.

I am trying to do it because there are some triggers (important ones) that use Player 1 as preset, meaning that if Player 1 is unused the trigger won't work properly. It's a minor but annoying nuisance.
 
Level 5
Joined
Aug 7, 2012
Messages
68
Any chance to rewrite these triggers so they don't have a set player?

Not really but I could put if/then/else actions so that if Player 1 is absent then it would work with Player 2 and so on which is just too much work (there are many of them). I think I will just make it very obvious that Player 1 needs to be taken instead. I really wanted to know if there was a way to lock players like that but it seems not. I am glad that's cleared though.

Thank you for your attention :)
 
Level 22
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
892
Shouldn't be too difficult. Something like this

Code:
For each (Integer A) from 1 to 24, do (Actions)
    Loop - Actions
        If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
            If - Conditions
                ((Player((Integer A))) slot status) Equal to Is playing
            Then - Actions
                -------- Do Cool Stuff --------
                Skip remaining actions
            Else - Actions
 
Level 5
Joined
Aug 7, 2012
Messages
68
Shouldn't be too difficult. Something like this

Code:
For each (Integer A) from 1 to 24, do (Actions)
    Loop - Actions
        If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
            If - Conditions
                ((Player((Integer A))) slot status) Equal to Is playing
            Then - Actions
                -------- Do Cool Stuff --------
                Skip remaining actions
            Else - Actions

Yeah, I am actually doing it now. Seems like I'll have to delay the upload a while longer ... oh well.

Thank you for your help again.

Edit : Actually realized I don't have that many triggers like that except dialogues, shouldn't take too long.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top