• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • ✅ HD Level Design Contest #1 POLL is now OPEN! Check out the stunning visuals of the final entries. 🔗Click here to cast your vote!

Noob Mapping Help-i shall try to answer u as best i can

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
21
Okay here it goes then

-How do you make something along the lines of: a unit has a colored exclamation mark on his head (ala WoW). If you right clikc on him he will say something using a floating text than would disssapear after X seconds.

-how do you make mobs respawn? Such as if i kill them once, after X minites they will be back there.

-Is there an easy way to asign loot to units aprt from individualy selecting units and giving them loot?

-why do cameras/animations work so randomly?

-is there a way to have more then 13 tiles per map?

- how do you make a unit u do not control walk to a certain point and/or patrol. Is there a way to make units walk and NOT run?

- i din't even start thinking on how to make a quest systems like in most RPGs ^^


If you can answers any of my points i'd be a really happy beginner :)
 
Level 12
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
565
wow ur fast


ok here it goes then :smile:

1-(THIS IS IF YOU WANT A COLOUR OTHER THAN YELLOW EXCLAMATION MARK)

-Create a unit*this will be a dummy so remove movement n attack and give it the ability locust( makes it unselectable).

-Give it the model exclamarion mark (loacted in extras-> exclamation mark)
and make its movement *FLYING*

-To change its colours there should be *in the object editor where u gave its
model(somewhere under it) art- tinting colour red/green/blue.

-If u make blue n green -0- then the exclamation mark will be RED so ..thats how to change it colours.

-ok then to make it float
Go to the triger editor( the 'a' under the advanced option (file-tools-ADVANCED) then right click and make new trigger

-for the trigger
EVENT=(right click new event) TIME-. elasped time = X seconds
ACTION=(new action) Create new unit for Neutral passive at region(create a region under the unit that u want the exclamation mark and then select the region*space bar then click on it*)

-Then another action
--Animation-> change flying hight( search for OF LAST CREATED UNIT) to about 200 i think *u can agust it later* (how hight the exclamation mark is)

-------THATS HOW TO MAKE A COLOURED EXCLAMATION MARK---------
 
Level 12
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
565
-1( to make a normal exclamation mark)*MUCH EASIER*
-New trigger

-Same event as last post

-New action
--Special Effects-> create special effect on unit
The special effect shoud be in EXTRAS->Exclamation mark
Where it a attached type in head (should work)*that idk if float will work*

--------------------------------------DONE-------------------------

---Dont forget to rep me if i help u:grin:-----------
 
Level 2
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
21
You don't mind if i help a bit? For the mob respawn, set a trigger like this:
Events:
A unit dies
Conditions:
Unit-type of (Dying unit) equal to (your mob)
Actions:
Wait (the respawn interval) seconds
Create 1 unit of unit-type(your mob variable) for (whatever player) at (some point)

Hey thx ... help is always apreciated :)

So just to be sure, that means i have to make a trigger for every unit that i want to respwan. So for expample, if i have 10 units i want to make respawn, i should have 10 times this trigger? is that correct?

another question,
How should i procede to remove or kill a certain unit-type in a region from the game after an event?
 
Level 34
Joined
Sep 6, 2006
Messages
8,873
cool_is_i, I realize you are new and all, but think about it. This whole section is for "noobs" to ask for help. Really, this whole site is for help and resources. Please do not make a thread asking people if they want help with anything.

You could however make a thread offering your services. For example, there is a thread where people can ask for a spell, and others will try and make it for them.

Next time, just be more specific.
 
Level 12
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
565
Mike i think this is what u ment
im not sure butu want a unit to automaticly move to a target area without u doin anything, rite?

if this is not what u ment tell me

if it is read on

-make a new trigger

-new event
--time->time elasped = X seconds(how long before what every u want to happen)

-new action
--units-> issue order targeting a point

-The 'point'*make a region(this region will be where the unit moves to) and selecct it*

-The order make the order patrol or whatever u want it to be

-the unit(select the unit that u want to move)

------------Hope this helps-------------
 
Level 2
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
21
okay i'll DL it MB. DO you know how to find that code i posted before?

and look at your inbox btw ;)
 
Level 12
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
565
----dont mean to be greedy buuut....
ummm *cough**cough**rep if i help u**cough----

Oh yea and

1-A
To make a hero pik up an item

event-
time
elasped time 'X' seconds

Action
unit
Issue order to make unit attak unit

-change attack to right click
-change 2nd unit to the item
-change 1st unit to hero

DONE

1-B
Another way
Time
etc
etc

Action

hero->
give item to hero
(this will make the item*no matter where it is on the map* go to the hero)

2-
If u want a hero to drop an item and another hero to pick it up look at A
If u wan a hero just to get an item **see above**

--A--
event-whatever u want

action-hero drop item from hero(the item has to an item which was physically on the map)

action-wait "x" seconds(or the other hero will pick the item up instantly and you woudant be able to see anything

action-hero-> give 'selected item' to hero

If u want me to show u how to do a cinamatic
I can try but im kinda new there as well
I could show u what i know
Or u could check out the tutorial for it
 
Level 15
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,244
Double posts are somewhat disliked around here. Use the edit button next time, it saves server's memory. Now about killing a certain unit type:
Events
your event here
Conditions
your condition here(if needed)
Actions
Unit group - Pick every unit in (your region) and do actions
if unit-type of (picked unit) = (your unit) then kill/explode/remove picked unit
I hope this is helpfull
 
Level 5
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
162
cool_is_i, I realize you are new and all, but think about it. This whole section is for "noobs" to ask for help. Really, this whole site is for help and resources. Please do not make a thread asking people if they want help with anything.

You could however make a thread offering your services. For example, there is a thread where people can ask for a spell, and others will try and make it for them.

Next time, just be more specific.

why does every one have such a problem with this guy helping people out?
 

Rui

Rui

Level 41
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
7,550
I'm sorry, cool_is_i, I approve of your intentions, but this is certainly not the best way to gain reputation.
If every user in the Hive created a thread like this, the Hive would loose a whole lot of sense.

The previous question shall be moved to another topic.
kkots's problem has been moved to a new thread: Private Multiboard for each Player

This time you shall pass unpunished, but don't you ever do something like this again.
~Thread Closed
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top