• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

New to GUI Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Hey guys, i'm new to the hive and pretty new to triggers and such, i know some stuff but i'm by no means good yet.

This talk of integers and variables confuses me to no end, i've read tutorials on the site already but it still confuses me.

Could someone with the time please break these 2 things down for me as i have already tried to read tutorials and i still don't learn anything

Level 12
Sure, And I understand why. As its hard for 1 too make the tutorials work for every skill level. And I think the biggest reason is alot of them go into so much depth that missing the point can be easy.

Variables

Basically a variable is something the computer can hold information.
Like for example your Total_Kills could be variable. Its called a Variable because it can change.

Integers

A Integer is a type of variable. That can hold a number. But not a fraction of a number. So you could save 5 in it or 5000 but not 5.5. If you try to divide a integer by 2 it cuts off the reminder. like 5/2 = 2. not 2.5.

Putin it all together

So In the world editor, once you have a map opened. you can click the A for triggers. and then a X for variables. X is a common name for variable. Like in math class.
In warcraft there are alot of different variable types. Look at them in there.
You have to use triggers use the variables but that's going a bit father then you asked.