Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

New patch hard-capped map sizes

Discussion in 'Patch & Reforged Discussion' started by HerrDave, Jul 9, 2017.

  1. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    "full map area exceeds the limit of 65536 cells"

    Despite being run in a player-made editor which can make maps of 480x480.

    Due to this error I cannot change the water colour, loading screen, time of day, fog, etc.

    Does anybody know a workaround for this, or is it too new a change?
     
  2. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,130
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    There probably is no work around. WC3 was not designed for 480*480 maps which is why features like blight broke on them.

    You can ask the SharpCraft makers if they can disable the limit. However the fact it exists means that such maps might not work well in game.
     
  3. Tasyen

    Tasyen

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,693
    Resources:
    37
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    20
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    37
    well 256x256 is allready really big. the max distance is even there over 42k distance, resulting in an unit with 300 movespeed needing 140 seconds to cross a empty map diagonal.
     
  4. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    Really big though 256x256 is, it isn't quite Middle-Earth big.

    with 256x256, Rohan, Isengard, Mordor, and Gondor are squeezed together to such an extent that there is hardly any room to move about or have any significance to fortifications like Helms Deep or the wall of the Pellenor fields.

    I think I've figured out what's happened - the recent update enforced the editor limits - previously the slopes could be as steep as you wanted them on sharpcraft, and the map size could go up to 480x480, but now the size is limited and the terrain smooths out :\
     
  5. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,201
    Resources:
    31
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    31
    Why not resize them? 0.5 resize with lower camera anyone?
     
  6. Kaijyuu

    Kaijyuu

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Wait, slopes are limited now? That's awful if so, since you can make a lot of nifty stuff. Sure it looks weird if units try to walk on vertical slopes, but that's what pathing blockers are for.
     
  7. PurgeandFire

    PurgeandFire

    Code Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,429
    Resources:
    18
    Icons:
    1
    Spells:
    4
    Tutorials:
    9
    JASS:
    4
    Resources:
    18
    I don't think it is a bug. Every time a patch (or hotfix) is released, @MindWorX needs to update WEX to have the correct addresses. That is because it is hooking on to the current version of the editor (which is recompiled each patch), whereas JNGP would only hook on to the 1.21 version that Blizzard included for compatibility reasons.

    He is pretty fast about it though, so I'd wait a bit and watch for if WEX gets an update within the next few days.
     
  8. MindWorX

    MindWorX

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    690
    Resources:
    5
    Tools:
    1
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    5
    WEX is updated, so you just need to grab the newest version and it'll work.
     
  9. pyf

    pyf

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    2,689
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Transitions Among Campaign Maps

    Is your project making use of this already?
     
  10. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,095
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    Unfortunately no, but I may use it if I can wrap my head around a new mapping technique

    I'm not the most amazing map scriptor in the world, but luckily I am working with one :)