1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

My Bios Does Not Load

Discussion in 'Computer Tech' started by Megafyr, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. Megafyr

    Megafyr

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    957
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The bios on my desktop does not load – most of the times. I am currently booting my computer by pressing the restart button until it starts – which makes me doubt if any of the hardware is damaged, since everything works just fine after it is booted. I have to do this about 10-20 times before the bios loads.

    I usually boot my computer once a day... Today I have run all the anti virus software I have, so we'll see if it works tomorrow. I am not going to risk turning it off just yet...

    I am not very experienced with computers and stuff, so I though I'd ask here. Anyone know any possible cause or solution? : >
     
  2. Kwaliti

    Kwaliti

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,275
    Resources:
    27
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    5
    Skins:
    9
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    27
    Your motherboard is probably toast. You should get a new one.
     
  3. Megafyr

    Megafyr

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    957
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    How could this have happened? I haven't even had my computer for two years.
     
  4. Kwaliti

    Kwaliti

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,275
    Resources:
    27
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    5
    Skins:
    9
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    27
    That's my estimate at least. The last time I've had that problem, my motherboard had been having it's last breath.
     
  5. shiiK

    shiiK

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,745
    Resources:
    54
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    30
    Skins:
    22
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    54
    Could you clarify what you mean when you say your BIOS doesn't load?
     
  6. Megafyr

    Megafyr

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    957
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    My screen stays black most of the times I boot. : >
     
  7. Kwaliti

    Kwaliti

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,275
    Resources:
    27
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    5
    Skins:
    9
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    27
    Yeah. Your motherboard is probably near death then. If your warranty is still valid, you should go and replace the mobo.
     
  8. sadvisor

    sadvisor

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    if it's not a hardware problem, than take out the CMOS battery and put it back to reset the BIOS settings to default ones.
     
  9. Megafyr

    Megafyr

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    957
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    After troubleshooting and doing some tests I have now figured out it was actually my monitor being an ass... For some reason it does not always detect my computers signal. I have tried it on two computers, and it is the same thing on both. I started suspecting the monitor was broken when I recently booted my computer with yet again a black screen, but then hearing the quite annoying windows booting sound. : >

    Anyway, the monitor I have is Samsung Syncmaster 226 BW. When I turn it on, the reset button flashes, but it detects no signal. When it finally (due to me messing around) detects the signal the reset button is just lightned. I have no slightest clue what the reason is for my monitor acting like this is. I have tried to google my problem, but I can't find any solutions. Maybe this is a problem other monitors tend to have aswell?
     
  10. The_wand_mirror

    The_wand_mirror

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    4,273
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    lol, dude the beep you hear when you start your PC actually IS the BIOS.

    So when you hear the beeps you know your BIOS is fine.
     
  11. BlargHonk

    BlargHonk

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,119
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The beep is not the BIOS, the BIOS makes a beep.

    and also, some beeps are harddrives or graphics cards, and sometimes those still go when the board is broken.

    Too bad for the monitor though, might have to get a new one, check Newegg, they have pretty good prices.


    Get one of those 2ms ones too ^^
     
  12. The_wand_mirror

    The_wand_mirror

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    4,273
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Euh, it's the BIOS check :(