1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Movement Speed

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Megafyr, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. Megafyr

    Megafyr

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    957
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    How far does a unit move in game per second based on its movement speed value?
     
  2. sephiroth1234

    sephiroth1234

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think there is no fixed value... It depends, as you see, if a unit movement speed is 522(max in WC3 world editor), it moves at a distance ranging from 125~150 per second of game time. Maybe there's a formula... Like: ((Movement speed of specific unit)/(3.5)=Covered distance per second of game time
    Note:
    / - Division(Math Operator)
     
  3. tml616

    tml616

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm pretty sure it's movement speed is in units/second
     
  4. Adiktuz

    Adiktuz

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,674
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    23
    I think so too...
     
  5. Svenski

    Svenski

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    3
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    5
    I was wondering about this too. Had a few discussions with friends locally about it. We all concurred that movespeed is indeed units/second. Same with fields like projectile speed, i would assume.
     
  6. tml616

    tml616

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Note almost every bnet game is played on "fast" instead of "normal," which might change it a little.
     
  7. Catch_ya

    Catch_ya

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    982
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I don't know if it is the right but projectile systems uses something like PERIOD*SPEED.
    Where Period is the timer like 0.04
    and speed is the missile speed like 700. I don't know if the following is right through, but I think that it means the missile moves 700 coordinates in the second. atleast 0.04 * 700 = 28 that means that the projectile is moving 28 coordinates each PERIOD. Hope it helped in someway. This should count for units too since a projectile is a unit.
     
  8. Maker

    Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9,181
    Resources:
    17
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    14
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    17
    For example, Shockwave (Tauren hero ability) has moving speed of 1050. That's equivalent to moving a distance of 31.5 every 0.03 seconds. 1050*0.03 = 31.5.

    So I'd say a moving speed of 270 is equivalent of moving 270 distance units per second.
     
  9. sephiroth1234

    sephiroth1234

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I agree with Maker's conlusion.:thumbs_up:
     
  10. Catch_ya

    Catch_ya

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    982
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I was thinking the same. But I'm pretty sure thats true.
     
  11. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,689
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    It moves as far as the movement speed per second in ingame units. If a unit has a movement speed of 100 it will move 100 WC3 units in 1 second.
     
  12. D4RK_G4ND4LF

    D4RK_G4ND4LF

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,196
    Resources:
    20
    Models:
    3
    Spells:
    15
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    20
    just tried that but it did not make any difference
    I made a trigger which ran every second and displayed the distance between the new and last position
    additionally I set the game speed to "slowest" and "fastest" and the time was the same in both cases
    this leads me to the conclusion that a "second" in warcraft 3 is not a real second all the time

    however, units move a little slower than their max movement speed
    (I had a bloodmage with 500 ms running a very long straight line and he had 499.99 and 484.99 ms [swapped every second] )

    edit:
    at "fastest" a real second is equal to an ingame second while at "slowest" a second is equal to something like 1,6
    and from time to time the bloodmage also ran 502.17 ms (not that often though)
     
  13. Svenski

    Svenski

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Resources:
    5
    Icons:
    3
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    5
    Yo that's some good stuff D4RK_G4ND4LF, + rep!
     
  14. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,689
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    The unit going slower than max movement speed is due to rounding errors (limited float precision) and latencies with subpathing update routeens.
     
  15. D4RK_G4ND4LF

    D4RK_G4ND4LF

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,196
    Resources:
    20
    Models:
    3
    Spells:
    15
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    20
    this explains why it is 499.99 instead of 500 but what about the other values?

    :eekani: