1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Vote for the best entries in the 13th Music Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

More Terrain Types?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Slaydon, Mar 7, 2009.

  1. Slaydon

    Slaydon

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Is it possible to have all the type of terrain in 1 map?:razz:
     
  2. HellCEzAR

    HellCEzAR

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  3. Slaydon

    Slaydon

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    But, is it possible`?
     
  4. Blaxor

    Blaxor

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    411
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    6
    Resources:
    7
    it's possible to have many types of tiles but there is a limit that is impossible to break, thus making it IMPOSSIBLE to have ALL tiles in one map, you could read what HellCEzAR wrote.. he wrote the word "no" meaning it's not possible.
     
  5. Vegavak

    Vegavak

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,010
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can only have 10-16 tiles maximum in a map.
     
  6. HellCEzAR

    HellCEzAR

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    i'm not wrong say, all tilesets not possible to insert in 1 map
     
  7. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,816
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    It is possiable via triggers, but WC3 asigns only so much space for mapping terrain texture tiles. Thus after a certain number, they turn into random terrain tiles for other tile sets being used. Sadly you can not unload loaded tiles meaning it can get annoying if you need to use a great number of tiles.

    The actual limate I can not trace, It is eithor due to a limate with the maximum number of tiles that a terrain square can reference (I dought as generally nowdays that would be close to 256 or more due to 32 bit system design) or else its due to how the actual textures are mapped into the graphics engine meaning that it can only load so many terrain texture sets at once (quite possiably this as they tend to be quite large images and might be stored as an array of separate tile blocks or else as one gient huge image of fixed deminsions).
     
  8. Slaydon

    Slaydon

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Dang, i wish it was possible to make all themes in one, but i guess ill just have to make alot of maps that will be 1.
     
  9. reza sword2

    reza sword2

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    290
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, you can use WEU just to add more terrain tiles, then keep going with the traditional WE. It's how I do it.
     
  10. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,816
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    The use of WEU for any task is best avoided. Use JNGP instead.
     
  11. manstie

    manstie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    847
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Whats so good about WEU
     
  12. Bloody_Turds

    Bloody_Turds

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,266
    Resources:
    16
    Models:
    14
    Packs:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Resources:
    16
    it can F%$# ur maps up ^^, its extreemly outdated. but at one time, it does however remove alot of woldeditors limits, (tilesets, in this case,) although it still dosnt bypass the max limit of WARCRAFT 3 (the 16 tileset thingy)it has many other features, but since some patch, its unstable
     
  13. Slaydon

    Slaydon

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Soo, its impossible? =(
     
  14. reza sword2

    reza sword2

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    290
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    It's not possible to have all tilesets in one map. However, it is possible to extend the limit of tilesets.
     
  15. Slaydon

    Slaydon

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    By using WEU? or WE?
     
  16. Jerrin

    Jerrin

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You can add a few in WE. More in WEU. There will, however, as has been said still be limits.
     
  17. saphiree

    saphiree

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,074
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Can someone plz tell HOW to do this? i would really like to have like 20 in mine. Can someone tell me how?
     
  18. Slaydon

    Slaydon

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    i think you need to place regions for EACH terrain you need and put something in that region that spawns the terrain =/
     
  19. Dr. Boom

    Dr. Boom

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Seas =)

    Yep ;) as someone allrdy said, use the WEU =)

    Klick the WEU Enhancer - Edit Map - Search - Get your map and klick ok - mark: [ ] Use custom Tileset - Edit - Double Click to the Tileset you want add - done - and save.

    Now you can open you map with the WEU and you got more tilesets =)
     
  20. saphiree

    saphiree

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,074
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i just hate WEU. I cant even get it work. When i started it up it just went all buggy and gave me a bunch of errors...