1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Models with my textures

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by orcfan32, Jan 8, 2005.

  1. orcfan32

    orcfan32

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    337
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I don't understand the pathing for modeling custom models. I figured out how to remove team color with the replaceableID thing, but I have textures that I made that I don't understand how to attach them to my model. I am using GMax and I dragged my texture from the window to the model and UV Mapped them. But I just can't understand how to put them on!!!
     
  2. Pike

    Pike

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Use LithUnwrap or Chiliskinner script for GMax from the GMax modeling pack in the tools section. Find a tutorial how to unwrap, and save it to a 24bit TGA. Then insert the path of the texture in your mdl.
     
  3. orcfan32

    orcfan32

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    337
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    What I mean is, how do I put a different skin on one side of a model?

    For example, if I have a box and want a different texture on every side, then how do I do that?
     
  4. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,974
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    Ok, each seperate side MUST be a different geoset, otherwise this won't work. Secondly, each of the geosets MUST use their own different material

    Look in an already existing Blizzard model to see how they have many textures and materials, its pretty easy. Just have more than one texture in that bit where the textures are in the mdl. Materials come after textures, and have a texture ID that starts at 0, not 1. Same thing goes with the Material ID on the various geosets that point to which material, and therefore which texture, that geoset uses
     
  5. orcfan32

    orcfan32

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    337
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Sounds easy..but what if I wanted a different texture on every shape in my model?
     
  6. StealthFox

    StealthFox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Combine the textures into one .blp file and UV map them with each individual texture. The only other solution is to create geosets for every one of those textures and have materials for each one. The first one sounds and is easier, unless you're UV mapping a mounted unit or a unit like the demon hunter.