1. Are you planning to upload your awesome tool to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    July 9, 2018: The rules for the Tool Section have been revised. Please be sure to read the revisions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Mdlvis 1.41

Submitted by Anonymous
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
This tool originates from here

Mdlvis, a pretty easy war3 model-editing and animating tool.. it can work around the mesh and rewrap quickly, separate geosets easily, tweak normals, transfer meshes from one model to the other and rig them, position bones, particle effect nodes, attachment points, can make global, and regular animations, can compress and optimize models..

This tool was originally created by Alexey from xgm.ru.

Note to those on patch 1.28+:
Due to some of the archive changes/migration in 1.28, you may run into some issues getting MDLVis to run. Check out this post for a potential solution:
Mdlvis

Changelog:
MDLVIS 1.41

-Wotlk alpha and beta support
-minor bugfixes (not specified)


Keywords:
mdlvis, model, editing, and, animating, tool
Contents

MdlVis 1.41 (Binary)

Reviews
Moderator
20:10, 9th Nov 2013 Ralle:
  1. loktar

    loktar

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,104
    Resources:
    34
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    16
    Packs:
    1
    Tools:
    3
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    34
    Since 1.29 I get the error "Can't unpack BLPs" and textures won't load.
    Does anyone know how to fix this?
     
  2. Clanzion

    Clanzion

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    438
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can fix it by having copies of the mpqs in the same folder as the mdllvis program.
     
  3. loktar

    loktar

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,104
    Resources:
    34
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    16
    Packs:
    1
    Tools:
    3
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    34
    Doesn't work with 1.29 files :(
    edit: I copied the MPQs from a 1.27 installer I still had on my computer :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2018
  4. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Resources:
    163
    Models:
    135
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    163
    This seems like a fairly roundabout solution

    Can you tell me where you found your old .MPQs, please?

    *Edit
    Catastrophic grammatical error on my part
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2018
  5. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,043
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    "Roundabout"?

    I don't know about him, but I simply copy-pasted the MPQs from my standard Wc3 install folder a long time ago, when it was readily available (v1.26 maybe?). Since the MPQs are now 'hidden', all these old programs that directly utilize them will need a copy to continue doing so (& will probably miss out on anything new added (as unlikely as that is)).

    It's worked pretty well for me so far.
     
  6. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Resources:
    163
    Models:
    135
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    163
    What I mean is, I can't find the original .MPQs and I'm wondering if I've gone and overwritten them by accident.

    If this is the case, this update effectively ended my modeling and animating for Wc3.
     
  7. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,043
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I don't know about 'overwritten', but from what I have learned (don't quote me on this), one of the newer updates to Warcraft 3 changed it's back-end in a number of substantial ways; most pertinently, it 'removed' or rather 'hid' the MPQs 'behind the scenes' so they are not readily accessible anymore. This has caused some frustration to folks like me who depend on custom MPQs for my stuff, and for people using those 3rd-party modeling tools (also like me) that depend on them as well.

    Oh come now, no need to be hyperbolic. : ) I'm 100% sure you can get a copy of the older MPQs from somebody here (if it isn't already uploaded somewhere on the Hive). Heck I'd do it if I could figure out how.
     
  8. loktar

    loktar

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,104
    Resources:
    34
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    16
    Packs:
    1
    Tools:
    3
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    34
    I used to have the Mdlvis .exe in the WC3 folder, that's why I didn't have any copies of the MPQs.
    I still had a 1.27 installer for both ROC and TFT downloaded from battle.net on my computer so I just copied the MPQs from that (they're in the Installer Tome.mpq).

    I also have the War3ModelEditor .exe in the WC3 folder, which still works fine.
     
  9. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Resources:
    163
    Models:
    135
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    163
    Could I persuade you to upload your 1.27 MPQs in pastebin?
     
  10. loktar

    loktar

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,104
    Resources:
    34
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    16
    Packs:
    1
    Tools:
    3
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    34
    MPQs aren't allowed in pastebin :(
     
  11. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Resources:
    163
    Models:
    135
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    163
    Ach, my .MPQs straight off the disks didn't work :(
     
  12. Rolo

    Rolo

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    8
    Resources:
    8
    I also seem to have the same problem. And I really need Mdlvis up and running again smoothly. Are 1.27 MPQ's somewhere to be found on the Hive?
     
  13. loktar

    loktar

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,104
    Resources:
    34
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    16
    Packs:
    1
    Tools:
    3
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    34
    You could try torrenting the game. I found a 1.26 portable version (no install required so can run side-by-side with your real install) on TPB (which I needed to get JNPG to work). It's not illegal if you already own the game.
     
  14. Clanzion

    Clanzion

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    438
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    having a problem with mdlvis causing the model to crash during loading of the map even without using any of the optimizer features when saving some models in it.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2018
  15. Rolo

    Rolo

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    8
    Resources:
    8
  16. Retera

    Retera

    Tool Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    928
    Resources:
    26
    Models:
    18
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    26
    Is this tool open source? I might like to play with the code.

    If you need old style MPQs, here's a quick fix: download build 3 from this MiniWc3 link, it's 100 MB and contains ultracompressed MPQs from before the new patches:

    https://www.hiveworkshop.com/attachments/build3-zip.259156/

    When MdlVis loads the ultracompressed textures they're going to look low-resolution, but I think it should get the program working again if you were stuck and don't like torrenting.
     
  17. Rolo

    Rolo

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Resources:
    8
    Models:
    8
    Resources:
    8
    Hey, that works! I don't mind the low-resolution, I can at least see what I am doing now without having to open up my model in magos model editor the whole time. Thanks a lot!
     
  18. Kyrbi0

    Kyrbi0

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,043
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Honestly, Magos does a few things that MDLvis doesn't/can't so gosh-darn well that I end up keeping both open all the time anyway. :< But yeah, glad you got that fixed.
     
  19. NelsonLaJe

    NelsonLaJe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    Messages:
    679
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    this program have any improvement for the 1.30?
     
  20. Retera

    Retera

    Tool Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    928
    Resources:
    26
    Models:
    18
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    6
    Resources:
    26
    I am not aware of whether the developers of Mdlvis or Magos are still active at all. If they are active, I should talk to them about merging codebases with the Matrix Eater and building one single tool. So, if there is somebody updating Mdlvis out there, please message me.