• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Massive-trigger problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
119
Hellow,

It's 3-level spell based on one trigger
I've made a trigger which scarifices unit FOOTMAN to transform him into FOOTMAN2. The trigger is pretty easy, it casts 30 seconds then it replaces FOOTMEN 1 with FOOTMEN 2,


Everything is kay, till im trying to use spell twice same time.


Can you hep me solve dat problem?
It's pretty important trigger for meh, cause one race is totally based on this spell/trigger.

(I am lowbie at triggers, well can you explain me why dat trigger gettin bugged while im trying it cast twice at same time, plz0x).


The second problem are not-equaling-units;

for example if i cast spell at RIFFLEMAN instead of FOOTMEN it starts bugging.
Can you also help me solve dat prob?

Here's img of trigger;
attachment.php
 

Attachments

  • qwee.png
    qwee.png
    63.8 KB · Views: 150
Level 30
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
6,637
It just stucks both triggers (if im spamming with spell) and/or (for example) changes FOOTMEN into KNIGHT and KNIGHT getting stucked.

Easy, you've forgot to unpause it. Try this trigger:

  • Unit - Unpause >>Your unit here<<<
Always remember to unpause them when puasing them so they can be moved again! And also when unpausing the unit dont use the Sacrificed Unit Variable anyore but an another one.
 
Level 5
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
119
Kay, the second problem still comming back.
When im trying to spam those spells units getting bugged. <<==== SAME TIME

When i'm trying to sacrifice FOOTMEN 2 into FOOTMEN 3 and KNIGHT into KNIGHT 2 (same time!) then FOOTMEN 2 getting stucked (unit which was pointed as 1st target) and KNIGHT turns into FOOTMEN 3 (the second unit changes into 2nd form of 1st's unit).

Can you help me solve this problem?



BTW. It's 3-level spell based on 3 similar triggers (just units are changed).
 
Level 30
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
6,637
Kay, the second problem still comming back.
When im trying to spam those spells units getting bugged.

When i'm trying to sacrifice FOOTMEN 2 into FOOTMEN 3 and KNIGHT into KNIGHT 2 (same time!) then FOOTMEN 2 getting stucked (unit which was pointed as 1st target) and KNIGHT turns into FOOTMEN 3 (the second unit changes into 2nd form of 1st's unit).

Can you help me solve this problem?

Mostly your trigger is not MUI for long terms Mulitple Unit Instanceability. In this further I dont have knowledge of MUI, maybe someone might help you but I sure do know your trigger is not MUI.

Because MUI supports casting ability on two units at the same time without bugging or leaking.
 
Level 29
Joined
Oct 24, 2012
Messages
6,543
the trigger isnt MUI because of the waits the way u use them. u can change this into a simple spell if u change the way u use the waits. but u should know that waits are inaccurate.

here is how u could do this if u want to use waits.
i prefer indexing more accurate but more work.
Here is a link on waits http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/2284304-post9.html
This will wait 30 seconds then remove the unit
  • change footman
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to replaceFootman
    • Actions
      • Custom script: local unit udg_tempUnit = GetTriggerUnit()
      • Custom script: local location udg_tempPoint = Location( GetUnitX( udg_tempUnit), GetUnitY( udg_tempUnit))
      • Custom script: local player udg_tempTrigPlayer = GetOwningPlayer( udg_tempUnit)
      • Custom script: local real udg_tempFacing = GetUnitFacing( udg_tempUnit)
      • Wait 30.00 seconds
      • Unit - Remove tempUnit from the game
      • Unit - Create 1 footman2 for tempTrigPlayer at tempPoint facing tempFacing degrees
      • Custom script: set udg_tempUnit = null
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation( udg_tempPoint)
      • Custom script: set udg_tempPoint = null
      • Custom script: set udg_tempTrigPlayer = null
There is a chapter in my tutorial for indexing. Also there is a lot of usefull stuff for GUIers to use. http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tutorial-submission-283/things-gui-user-should-know-233242/#
 
Level 30
Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
6,637
the trigger isnt MUI because of the waits the way u use them. u can change this into a simple spell if u change the way u use the waits. but u should know that waits are inaccurate.

here is how u could do this if u want to use waits.
i prefer indexing more accurate but more work.
Here is a link on waits http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/2284304-post9.html
This will wait 30 seconds then remove the unit
  • change footman
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to replaceFootman
    • Actions
      • Custom script: local unit udg_tempUnit = GetTriggerUnit()
      • Custom script: local location udg_tempPoint = Location( GetUnitX( udg_tempUnit), GetUnitY( udg_tempUnit))
      • Custom script: local player udg_tempTrigPlayer = GetOwningPlayer( udg_tempUnit)
      • Custom script: local real udg_tempFacing = GetUnitFacing( udg_tempUnit)
      • Wait 30.00 seconds
      • Unit - Remove tempUnit from the game
      • Unit - Create 1 footman2 for tempTrigPlayer at tempPoint facing tempFacing degrees
      • Custom script: set udg_tempUnit = null
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation( udg_tempPoint)
      • Custom script: set udg_tempPoint = null
      • Custom script: set udg_tempTrigPlayer = null
There is a chapter in my tutorial for indexing. Also there is a lot of usefull stuff for GUIers to use. http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tutorial-submission-283/things-gui-user-should-know-233242/#

Nicely done bro. I also know its not MUI but I just dont know the triggers to make it MUI.... heheh....lol!
 
Level 5
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
119
  • change footman
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to replaceFootman
    • Actions
      • Custom script: local unit udg_tempUnit = GetTriggerUnit()
      • Custom script: local location udg_tempPoint = Location( GetUnitX( udg_tempUnit), GetUnitY( udg_tempUnit))
      • Custom script: local player udg_tempTrigPlayer = GetOwningPlayer( udg_tempUnit)
      • Custom script: local real udg_tempFacing = GetUnitFacing( udg_tempUnit)
      • Wait 30.00 seconds
      • Unit - Remove tempUnit from the game
      • Unit - Create 1 footman2 for tempTrigPlayer at tempPoint facing tempFacing degrees
      • Custom script: set udg_tempUnit = null
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation( udg_tempPoint)
      • Custom script: set udg_tempPoint = null
      • Custom script: set udg_tempTrigPlayer = null

I can understand a s#$% here. (never used mui before).
Whats tempUnit, tempTrigPlayer etc?
Is this variables or what...?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top