• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Mana-based shield system

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone.
I was wondering if anyone knows how to make a nice protoss-like shield system using mana points?

I was checking out this system for damage detection and manipulation:
http://www.wc3c.net/showthread.php?t=108009

But cant get it to work somehow, due to optional library requieries (at least one each of wich were implemented!)
I heard vexorian made a system like this, but i cant seem to find it.
Noone who could bother helping me out on making this?
I have basic knowledge of jass and vJass.
Thanks in advance.

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
The version I had from vexorian was dated. It leaked and infact does not even work in version 1.24 (this was a very old one from pre 1.20 days).

I advise looking at my shield system in the spell section to see how damage prevention is done and then making your own system.

I checked your spell pack, really nice. But i cant actually find any damage detection in it; it is using the standard blizzard event "[specific unit] is damaged", and a trigger automatically created for each unit that has the shield. I thought that event was unsafe to use? Or is that "unit is attacked"?

Furthermore, i understand you are using an ability wich increases health by 2000 while it's applied. Though i found a smaller code snippet in wich a guy had used a similar way, resetting the units hp as soon as it was damaged, but comments suggested that healing up the unit wasn't a good option. Could you explain to me how this system works?