• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Make opponents Allied when base is destroyed

Level 2
The overall thought of the map is to destroy the opponents bases and thereby adding them to your team. You win when all the opponents are on your team.

My goal is to make the owner of the dying unit (the players opponent) their ally.
I have succeded in doing so, but the owner of the dying unit remains allied to their previous allies.

I wonder if it is possible to the "forces" to add and remove people from different forces?
I am quite new to map making so i hope someone has an idea.
Skærmbillede 2024-03-08 111719.png

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 64
Hello, so you should introduce some more variables to ensure that the references in your trigger aren't lost. I also recommend using unique variables when dealing with the "A unit dies" Event since it breaks the trigger queue and runs immediately. You also forgot to account for the fact that the killing player can have allies as well, which the dying player will need to become allied with too.

I believe this should work:
  • Actions
    • Set KillingPlayer = (Owner of (Killing unit))
    • Set DyingPlayer = (Owner of (Triggering unit))
    • Set TakeoverLoc = (Position of (Triggering unit))
    • -------- --------
    • Unit - Remove (Triggering unit) from the game
    • Unit - Create 1 Base for DyingPlayer at TakeoverLoc facing Default building facing degrees
    • Custom script: call RemoveLocation( udg_TakeoverLoc )
    • -------- --------
    • -------- Leave the dying player's team: --------
    • Set TakeoverPG = (All allies of DyingPlayer)
    • Player Group - Pick every player in TakeoverPG and do (Player - Make DyingPlayer treat (Picked player) as an Enemy)