1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Last steps for ms3d to wc3?

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by Mulgrim, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Hello everyone, recently I have been making many models, but never really import them to wc3, so I tried today with litle success... I use ms3d, and I was wondering if someone can quickly guide me through the last steps of getting my attachment model in the game.

    So far I have edited with notepad, converted model file to mdx too, and texture to blp, but now what? what's the next step, i think compressed files have something to do with it, but I am not sure. also i'm on my ps3 right now so i can't post pictures of it, but it's the ashbringer sword.

    Thanks in advance, have a great day.
     
  2. chilla_killa

    chilla_killa

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,376
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    34
    Icons:
    5
    Resources:
    39
    You've got it?
     
  3. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    what do you mean?
     
  4. madqc

    madqc

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    he meant if you found out a way to do it.
     
  5. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    to import it? no not yet
     
  6. chilla_killa

    chilla_killa

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,376
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    34
    Icons:
    5
    Resources:
    39
    Lol, what don't you understand? It's the easiest thing on earth.
     
  7. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    not for me, lol.

    let's see, i make the model, i export it using guessts's exporter, save it as mdl. Then i open it with notepad, i change model name "milkshapeexported", to the model name i want, then i change white.blp to the texture i am using, if more then copy and paste the same format bellow and add the other texture. convert from mdl to mdx, and turn it into a compressed folder. that's all i've done, every step... now tell me what did i do wrong? and did i miss something??

    Edit: do i change materials even if i only use 1 texture?
     
  8. chilla_killa

    chilla_killa

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,376
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    34
    Icons:
    5
    Resources:
    39
    Yes, if you have more then one material.
    You have to declare which texture every single material uses.
    You do this by setting the Texture ID number.

    If a material uses the texture at position 1, then change the texture id number to 0.
    If a material uses the texture at position 2, then change the texture id number to 1.
    If a material uses the texture at position 3, then change the texture id number to 2.
    etc ...
     
  9. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    and then?
     
  10. chilla_killa

    chilla_killa

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,376
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    34
    Icons:
    5
    Resources:
    39
    Save and convert to mdx and import ..................................:eekani:
     
  11. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    seriously? nothing about a compressed folder? and the texture i use to import it would be "white.blp" right?
     
  12. chilla_killa

    chilla_killa

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,376
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    34
    Icons:
    5
    Resources:
    39
    No, replace the the "white.blp" with the path of the texture you use.
     
  13. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    exactly... and i use whatever is in "white.blp" to import textures? also what do compressed folders have to do with it?
     
  14. chilla_killa

    chilla_killa

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,376
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    34
    Icons:
    5
    Resources:
    39
    WTF has a compressed folder to do with exporting in Milkshape?
    What do mean with importing textures?
     
  15. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    i don't know about you... but when I download a model, it's in a compressed file, and the .mdx, .blp and notes are all there, i'm asking if I have to do that too, and why it's important.

    what i mean with "importing textures" is when you download a model, import it to wc3, you have to write in a custom path for the textures, would this path be what the author wrote in "white.blp"?
     
  16. chilla_killa

    chilla_killa

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,376
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    34
    Icons:
    5
    Resources:
    39
    if you use custom textures yes
    you don't have too compress it
    if you upload it at hive workshop it gets compressed automatically
     
  17. Mulgrim

    Mulgrim

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    oh.............. i understand now, thank you :)
     
  18. Deolrin

    Deolrin

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    7,304
    Resources:
    57
    Models:
    48
    Icons:
    6
    Packs:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    57
    Mulgrim, it is only compressed to keep downloading filesize low and to not have to DL about 4 files one by one...