• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

JNGP starts as normal WE? Wtf?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 12
an already unpacked one I downloaded from the page of the server I'm using

You used the same download previously? Have you perhaps tried a different download? I'm not an expert on downloading it, since I still have my install CDs, but I had a buddy who was having issues after downloading it, and he tried a different torrent and it worked after that. Perhaps there is something wrong with the wc3 you downloaded. If there was, it could explain how, when you started up a new map with reg WE, it wouldn't work.

Level 12
Yes. Should. But I've seen weird things happen when downloading games. dll files don't work correctly or files are missing. Who knows. All I was saying is that perhaps a different source may yield positive results.

As I said, I don't have to worry about it, since I have my install cd's. But as with anything downloadable, anything can happen. For instance, my roommate had to manually patch his game (He also has cd's) after he reinstalled it, whereas I did not. Loose example is loose, but the point is made I believe.

BBQ

BBQ

Level 4
My War3 is an already unpacked one I downloaded from the page of the server I'm using. It worked before too and it has the latest patch. After that I just downloaded the JNGP an replaced the required files.
If your WC3 was "downloaded and already unpacked" (and most likely pirated, sorry), then you do not have the necessary registry entries.