1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Impale as an attack

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Marcell, Feb 25, 2018.

  1. Marcell

    Marcell

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi all,

    Is it possible to turn impale into an auto attack?

    I would like my unit's auto attack to deal the Hero damage of the unit in a line and fling opponents into the air, but not stun them. I turned projectile art into impale, but it looks terrible and also doesn't do the art from the caster up to the maximum range and also changing projectile type to missile line or artillery line also doesn't change the animation nor attacks in a line.

    I'm thinking trigger:
    Event:
    Unit attacks
    Condition:
    Unit = Crypt lord
    Action:
    Cast Impale dealing unit damage.
     
  2. UreDe4D

    UreDe4D

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,211
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    you can maybe use an orb effect for that, create an ability based of orb of lightning, with no bonus damage and 100% proc chance and change the spell cast to impale.
     
  3. Marcell

    Marcell

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ok thanks, I'll check that out
     
  4. Sarungard

    Sarungard

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yep and make stun duration to 0.01 - beware! 0.00 probably will make the stun last forever (not sure if every cases, but sometimes I experienced it)
     
  5. Marcell

    Marcell

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Impale.png

    I don't know what I'm doing wrong here. The fling up in the air doesn't work at all and also the Impale art appears at the enemy unit's feet and not in a line and also the effect sound doesn't work :S. I gave this to the orb of lightning item since when I gave it to my hero it became a castable ability and not an auto attack effect.

    I do see stats - Effects, but there is no "Impale" on the list to select it so I don't know if that part is bugged on my side since my editor got a bit screwy not too long ago for some reason.
     
  6. UreDe4D

    UreDe4D

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,211
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    here you go :)

    also check the triggers i added, because the effect otherwise only procs when you issue the order to attack
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Marcell

    Marcell

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks for the effort. + rep. This will give me the ability to make a few units I want.

    Just a few issues though.
    - The Impale happens a slight delay after the attack happens. I can live with this if it's not fixable.
    - The damage of impale is separate from the attack so it's a double strike dealing damage to the targeted target, then in a line. I can live with this too if not fixable, but I'd really like armor reduction to come into play, unless it affects the damage of impale itself already?
    - I'm trying to understand your trigger to see if I can fix it myself to no avail:
    • Attack
      • Events
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Unit - Order (Triggering unit) to Attack (Targeted unit)

    • variable
      • Events
        • Time - Elapsed game time is 0.10 seconds
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Set yourhero = Crypt Lord 0001 <gen>
        • Trigger - Add to Attack <gen> the event (Unit - yourhero Acquires a target)

    The issue is, when I tell the crypt lord to attack, he attacks all targets randomly instead of focusing on the one I ordered him to attack.
     
  8. UreDe4D

    UreDe4D

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,211
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    - i'm not sure how to fix the delay
    - i missed that point when i read your post :D ; you could make the impale deal 0 damage, and instead trigger the damage. then you can choose the damage type (threads for damaging units in line: Damage in a line and
    Area of Effect in a rectangle? ) you would somehow have to track the damage of your unit
    - the reason is probably if you use the "acquires a target" event, he will attack the nearest unit which is not affected by the previous impale. if you always order him to attack "by hand" you don't need the trigger
     
  9. Sieben

    Sieben

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    652
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I gave it a try, I enclosed a test map (Thanks to @Diegoit , I got inspiration from the map he provided in this thread: Passive chain lightning item - Maelstrom - dota 1)

    It seems there is no delay, no random attack. However, I didn't solve your double damage problem. As UreDe4D said, you might want to trigger the damage. You may also play around with your unit's damage, the number of levels for Impale...
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Marcell

    Marcell

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks, the impale strikes immediately. However, on my side the crypt lord still attacks one target, then switches target to the next enemy and attacks it instead of killing the first target.

    On another note, if anyone can assist me: I added Vorpal blades to my unit, since afaik it deals damage to the original target and any targets behind it, but it's not working with the trigger, I see vorpal blades' information sheet is pretty much empty, if that's the issue?
     
  11. Sieben

    Sieben

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    652
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think it's normal: when units are thrown in the air, they become untargetable by the crypt lord. Therefore, he switches to another target.
     
  12. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,040
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    Vorpal Blades does literally nothing. It's just a dummy ability to tell the player what a certain upgrade does, but all its effects are actually from that upgrade.
    Maybe you can make use of the approach I used here. In that thread I basically show a way to detect the damage of any spell and thus to change it, although I also use it for other things that are more fun.
     
  13. Marcell

    Marcell

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Greetings, I've used this trigger in my map, but I only recently tested it against mechanical units, but it doesn't work. I even changed the orb and the ability to include mechanical units, but it still doesn't want to work on mechanicals. Any assistance please :S?
     
  14. Xonok

    Xonok

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3,040
    Resources:
    8
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    5
    Resources:
    8
    I recently heard it said that chain lightning is hardcoded to not bounce to mechanical units. You can only choose the first unit it targets, or something like that.