• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

[Trigger] I dont have a clue of what isn't working here

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
69
No clue guys, sorry
  • Events
    • Time - Every 3.00 seconds of game time
  • Conditions
  • Actions
    • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
      • If - Conditions
        • Boss_Loop Equal to 5
      • Then - Actions
        • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)
        • Unit - Unhide Boss2_Unit
        • Unit - Move Boss2_Unit instantly to (Center of Boss 2 Zone <gen>)
        • Unit - Order Boss2_Unit to Night Elf Druid Of The Claw - Night Elf Form
        • Unit - Order Boss2_Unit to Attack (First unit from (Units in Move2 Heroes <gen> matching ((((Matching unit) is A Hero) Equal to True) and ((((Matching unit) is alive) Equal to True) and (((Matching unit) belongs to an enemy of Player 11 (Dark Green)) Equal to True)))))
        • Wait 14.00 seconds
        • Set Boss_Action = (Random integer number between 2 and 5)
        • Trigger - Turn on Boss 2 Check <gen>
      • Else - Actions
        • Set Boss_Loop = (Boss_Loop + 1)
        • Set Boss_RandomPoint = (Position of (Random unit from (Units in Move2 Heroes <gen> matching ((((Matching unit) is A Hero) Equal to True) and ((((Matching unit) is alive) Equal to True) and (((Matching unit) belongs to an enemy of Player 11 (Dark Green)) Equal to True))))))
        • Special Effect - Create a special effect at Boss_RandomPoint using war3mapImported\SandExplosion.mdx
        • Custom script: set bj_wantDestroyGroup = true
        • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units within 250.00 of Boss_RandomPoint matching ((((Matching unit) is A Hero) Equal to True) and ((((Matching unit) is alive) Equal to True) and (((Matching unit) belongs to an enemy of Player 11 (Dark Green)) Equal to True)))) and do (Actions)
          • Loop - Actions
            • Set Boss_TempLoc[1] = (Position of (Picked unit))
            • Unit - Create 1 Dummy Unit for Player 11 (Dark Green) at Boss_TempLoc[1] facing Default building facing degrees
            • Set Boss_Dummy = (Last created unit)
            • Unit - Add Entangling Roots Boss 2 to Boss_Dummy
            • Unit - Order Boss_Dummy to Night Elf Keeper Of The Grove - Entangling Roots (Picked unit)
            • Unit - Add a 2.00 second Generic expiration timer to Boss_Dummy
            • Custom script: call RemoveLocation (udg_Boss_TempLoc[1])
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation (udg_Boss_RandomPoint)
EDIT: I SOLVED IT! this is the correct trigger apparently there was something wrong using mutiple "and" this is the correct trigger
  • Boss 2 Action 1
    • Events
      • Time - Every 3.00 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
        • If - Conditions
          • Boss_Loop Equal to 5
        • Then - Actions
          • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)
          • Unit - Unhide Boss2_Unit
          • Unit - Move Boss2_Unit instantly to Boss_RandomPoint
          • Unit - Order Boss2_Unit to Night Elf Druid Of The Claw - Night Elf Form
          • Unit - Order Boss2_Unit to Attack (First unit from (Units in Move2 Heroes <gen> matching ((((Matching unit) is A Hero) Equal to True) and ((((Matching unit) is alive) Equal to True) and (((Matching unit) belongs to an enemy of Player 11 (Dark Green)) Equal to True)))))
          • Wait 14.00 seconds
          • Set Boss_Action = (Random integer number between 2 and 5)
          • Trigger - Turn on Boss 2 Check <gen>
        • Else - Actions
          • Set Boss_Loop = (Boss_Loop + 1)
          • Set Boss_RandomPoint = (Position of (Random unit from (Units in Move2 Heroes <gen> matching ((((Matching unit) is A Hero) Equal to True) and ((((Matching unit) is alive) Equal to True) and (((Matching unit) belongs to an enemy of Player 11 (Dark Green)) Equal to True))))))
          • Special Effect - Create a special effect at Boss_RandomPoint using war3mapImported\SandExplosion.mdx
          • Set Boss1_SFX = (Last created special effect)
          • Custom script: set bj_wantDestroyGroup = true
          • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units within 160.00 of Boss_RandomPoint matching ((((Matching unit) is alive) Equal to True) and (((Matching unit) belongs to an enemy of Player 11 (Dark Green)) Equal to True))) and do (Actions)
            • Loop - Actions
              • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)
              • Unit - Create 1 Dummy Unit for Player 11 (Dark Green) at (Center of Move2 Heroes <gen>) facing Default building facing degrees
              • Set Boss_Dummy = (Last created unit)
              • Unit - Add Entangling Roots Boss2 to Boss_Dummy
              • Unit - Add a 1.50 second Generic expiration timer to Boss_Dummy
              • Unit - Order Boss_Dummy to Night Elf Keeper Of The Grove - Entangling Roots (Picked unit)
              • Unit - Unhide Boss2_Unit
              • Unit - Move Boss2_Unit instantly to Boss_RandomPoint
              • Unit - Order Boss2_Unit to Night Elf Druid Of The Claw - Night Elf Form
          • Special Effect - Destroy Boss1_SFX
          • Custom script: call RemoveLocation (udg_Boss_RandomPoint)
 
Last edited:
Level 4
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
69
Well, its supposed to make a sand explosion at a random unit position, then it entangles him. The explosion appears but the entanglement doesn't (sorry, bad english). The dummy skill has no mana and no cooldown btw.
 
Level 3
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
40
Did you set range of the entangling roots ability to a couple thousand to ensure it isn't a range problem ?

Something else you could try : simply put the Entangling Roots spell in the Boss_Dummy unit's spells in the Object Editor instead of adding it through triggers, could be the problem.

Lastly, I don't like cooldowns set to 0, try setting it to something like 1, that too could work.
 
Last edited:
Level 4
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
69
Mmm, i think setting the cooldown may be a problem cuz it could entangle many unit, and I'll try making a separate dummy for the boss
EDIT: Yupe you are right, i didnt thought about the spawn for every unit
 
Level 3
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
40
Make sure the spell you created works on heroes, I think (can't remember though) that Entangling Roots checks for Resistant Skin so maybe that could be the problem.

Something else you could try is dropping the Boss_Dummy variable and using instead "Last Created Unit", it could overwrite itself when entangling multiple people.
 
Level 3
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
40
It won't ^^

If my understanding of triggers is correct, stuff like "Last Created Unit" doesn't get overwritter by other "Last Created Unit"s from other functions. Same goes for Triggering Unit, Attacking Unit, etc
 
Level 4
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
69
Okey, i have followed all of your advices, and nothing, i think there is something wrong with the order or the unit picking
 
Level 3
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
40
tumblr_m26nvnNG5o1qkk10ro1_500.jpg


Okay ...

Create an integer variable with a base value of 1. Make the array of your Boss_TempLoc equal to that variable, and within your "Picked Unit" loop, add a function:
Set Array_Variable = Array_Variable + 1

Also, try adding your Entangle Spell to a footman in the Object Editor and try it on a Neutral Hostile Hero, to see if the spell itself works from a manaless, non-hero caster
 
Level 4
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
69
Im sorry to say it super penguin, but i did that already, and nothing happened, maybe if i send you the map could you see the problem i dont see? :D
 
Level 3
Joined
Feb 10, 2013
Messages
40
I can't open your map, says "trigger - firstofgroup does not exist" :(

... I started using NewGen WE yesterday, been having these kind of issues ever since, eh. But it's my only choice, I hit the doodad limit on project valley D:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top