1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Solved] How to Import Custom Skin +rep!

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by SunTzu7387, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. SunTzu7387

    SunTzu7387

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  2. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,189
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    1. Open your map.
    2. Import skin into map.
    3. Change path of skin file to "Textures\BlackrockGrunt.blp".
    4. Save map.
    5. Close editor.
    6. Reopen the map.
    7. Test map.

    Both 6 and 7 should now show the skin. Be aware that unless you are playing WC3 at the highest visual settings it is possible for skins not to show.
     
  3. SunTzu7387

    SunTzu7387

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ok i changed the BlackrockGrunt.blp (Image/Texture) path to "Textures/BlackrockGrunt.blp" the BlackrockGrunt.mdx (model) path to war3mapImported/BlackrockGrunt.mdx and the BlackrockGrunt_Portrait.mdx (model) to war3mapImported/BlackrockGrunt_Portrait.mdx.

    in the unit i wanted to add to i put the war3mapImported/BlackrockGrunt.mdl file in the Art- Model file

    I cant find the Art-Portrait file to put the portrait and I dont know where to attatch the war3mapImported/BlackrockGrunt.mdx path.

    Sorry for not being very clear. you will get another +rep if you help me with this.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  4. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,892
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    Just change texture path to: Textures\BlackrockGrunt.blp
    Check pictures.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. SunTzu7387

    SunTzu7387

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    yes kobas I did that and successfuly imported it +rep. the only problem for me now is how to attach these to a unit. How do you attach all three paths to a unit and what art do you have to change to make it possible like you just did in the thumbnails?
     
  6. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,892
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    Just change model path of some unit into model imported, portrait will be attached by default, and skin as well.
     
  7. SunTzu7387

    SunTzu7387

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    thank you for the help it worked problem solved. +rep ofcorse