• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[JASS] how to create new custom UI like talents selection?

Level 8
Hi, I want to make Unique Upgrade Tab before starting campaign chapters that in style between SC2 WoL Campaigns Armory and WoW Talents.
But I don't know anything about UI and frame, and I'm new to it.
I want to learn the basics one by one, such as how to adjust the size of the background and its tab, and how to create and position buttons, and click recognition.
The following images are the directions that I want to create.
1687920148702.png

WC3ScrnShot_062823_004141_000.jpg

Level 8
His introduction is a very good one, but it's too vast and too difficult for me, and most of them consists lua. (I'm using Jass).

I succeeded in making it to this by investigating and referring to the_spellweaver's Talent kitchen one by one. (but not functioning yet)

1687963538127.png

But the problem I've encountered right now is that I don't know how to print texts about the "talent points" on the bottom left. Is there a way to output only text, not buttons?

Last edited:

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 64
This tool can help:

You can create frames for just about anything you want.

Also, his Lua code is pretty easy to change to Jass. It's the same exact API, you're just adding back a few words like "call" or "set".

For example this Lua function for creating a text frame is easily converted to Jass like so:
Lua:
 function Test()
    -- create a TEXT Frame
    local frame = BlzCreateFrameByType("TEXT", "MyTextFrame", BlzGetOriginFrame(ORIGIN_FRAME_GAME_UI, 0), "", 0)
    -- Set the current Text, you can use the Warcraft 3 Color Code