• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

How to alter sound effect of sleep spell? Custom Hero with Custom Spells

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 8
TL;DR: How do I change the creepy noise of sleep spell into something holy (or whatever) sounding so a good hero can use the spell?

I am a novice working on a project and just trying to figure things out step by step. Please bear with me.

I'm trying to create a custom paladin hero. Currently, I have encountered one main hurdle. I wanted to give one the spell Repentance and I figured the easiest way to do that was to just functionally give him Sleep and rename it Repentance. But the problem with that is that it still makes that creepy dreadlord noise when cast and that ruins the feel of it for me.

The spell itself says it has no sound file so I am completely confused as to how to fix it. Anyone know what to do?

Side question:
One of the other spells I gave him was Retribution Aura which I made just by altering Thorns. It works perfectly, but I couldn't find an aura model that looked paladin-y. I went through about ten pages of custom models before giving up for now. If anyone happens to know one off the top of their head I'd appreciate a link.

Level 8
Yes.

No. Except if you mean the death sound. Unit responses are actually defined as a "Sound Set" in the Object editor.
You can not add your own sound set, unfortunately. However, you can overwrite the audio files in one of the existing sound sets via the import manager.

What do you mean?

I assumed I'd be able to record my own lines and then just load them in wherever the default sound files are saved. Is that not possible?

What do you mean?