1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How do new model heroes retain their name?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Abelhawk, Sep 28, 2012.

  1. Abelhawk

    Abelhawk

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I'm making a game where you begin as a dragon whelp, and with each sheep you eat you get more experience. When you get to level 5, you upgrade into a drake, and at level 10 you become a dragon. The problem is, is there a way to retain my hero's proper name when I replace it with a drake/dragon? I don't want it to change randomly throughout the game.
     
  2. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,978
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    Just set the "Text - Hero Proper Names" to 1 name only in Object Editor ?
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2012
  3. Elfansoer

    Elfansoer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Or... using change form abilities?
    (extreme way, though...)
     
  4. Abelhawk

    Abelhawk

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Well, I guess I could just make one name. I have 9 proper names as possibilities, each a name of a dragon from various sources (Trogdor, Smaug, Sapphira, etc.), and I thought that would give it variety when you played it. But is there no way (even by scripting) to keep the name if the unit is changed?
     
  5. dardas

    dardas

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    649
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If there's a way to check the unit's name, you can try recreating the character until it gets the right name, but I'm not sure if you can check the name.
     
  6. Adiktuz

    Adiktuz

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,674
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    23
    You can get a unit's name or a hero's proper and normal names...
     
  7. Erkki2

    Erkki2

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    382
    Resources:
    7
    Skins:
    6
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    7
    You could make the transformation using a morphing ability, such as crow form. Set normal form unit to drake, and morphed unit to whelp, and add and remove the ability with triggers. That way you will have to replace abilities too with triggers though.
     
  8. Abelhawk

    Abelhawk

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    But then he couldn't evolve further into a Dragon. Sounds like a lot of work over a name. Maybe I'll just give it up.