• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

How do I use downloaded models?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello.

I'm a young world editor, which would really like to make a map with werewolfs. I just happen to have found a beautiful pack, with all kind of werewolfs (balverine pack) and I am eager to apply them to my map. By the title, you should know my problem, but to seam pro, I'm gonna go in detail with it:

I have downloaded the pack, and I have a bunch of .BLP and .mdx files. Now, I am fairly new to this whole modding thing, though I do have a pretty firm grip at how to make cool maps with the world editor. I simply just want my maps to have something the standards don't, which involves custom models. I just don't know how to actually use these beautiful loads of data. If someone with a warm heart, a bright mind and some sparetime would like to help out this fellow modder, I would be something-better-than-just-happy. (If you would really like to warm my heart, make a nice, detailed tutorial on how to use custom models/icons/potraits/textures. Since I have no clue, I am so lost when it comes to model editting.)

(this is by no means a disclaimer for taking the easy path) And yes, I have looked around for an already posted thread, and yes... I do realize that there is one out there, but after half an hour of searching with different keywords, nothing popped up. And please only post possible solutions, I don't want to hear about how you found a thread in a matter of seconds, that does not help me out unless you gimme a link to the thread you've found.

Thanks a lot for reading my thoughts, and (in case you help me out) taking time to get to help a poor, early modder. I love you.

I dunno why I make this, it's just an awesome smiley :infl_thumbs_up:

Last edited: