• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

help with TimerStart function

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
im trying to make a mui spell that uses a timer. i came across this in the jass api:

JASS:
native TimerStart (timer whichTimer, real timeout, boolean periodic, code handlerFunc) returns nothing

im not too good with jass, and i dont understand the whole thing about handle functions. anyway, if i want to pass this function another function (say i want it to run function d as the code)

what do i need to do to get function d to run whenever the timer expires?

(how do i use this function properly?)

Level 2
im trying to make a mui spell that uses a timer. i came across this in the jass api:

JASS:
native TimerStart (timer whichTimer, real timeout, boolean periodic, code handlerFunc) returns nothing

im not too good with jass, and i dont understand the whole thing about handle functions. anyway, if i want to pass this function another function (say i want it to run function d as the code)

what do i need to do to get function d to run whenever the timer expires?

(how do i use this function properly?)

JASS:
function IRunWhenTheTimerExpires takes nothing returns nothing
debug call BJDebugMsg("Hello world.")
endfunction

function IStartTheTimer takes nothing returns nothing
local timer t = CreateTimer()

call TimerStart(t, 1, true, function IRunWhenTheTimerExpires)

endfunction

Level 3
does the IRunWhenTimerExpires function in the example above have to take and return nothing? or can i pass it a few variables.

also do these variables get reset every time> or do they stay as they are

Level 2
does the IRunWhenTimerExpires function in the example above have to take and return nothing? or can i pass it a few variables.